New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This review is only for the FROSTING from this recipe: love, love, loved the frosting. I used it to frost 'Nutmeg Feather Cake' from AR. Creamy texture that held up well with great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
'Would've bet my life I reviewed this ten years ago - literally. 'Made it for my birthday, one of those "milestone" brthdays. :/ It is BEYOND FABULOUS! Rarely do I not change anything in a recipe - sometimes on purpose, sometimes not - anyway, no changes & it is GREAT! It is. 'Found my notes: Surprisingly for this girl who always halves the nutmeg in anything, 3/4t isn't too much. Also increased maple to 1 1/4t & added 1/4t vanilla. Wrote it, meaning the frosting, was "a little greasy, just a little "on my paper, too. 'Still hard to believe the first time I made this was ten years ago. Sooo, I don't follow the directions. I don't think a buttermilk cake should be a onebowl wonder. I cream the shortening & sugar; add eggs 1@a time; 1t vanilla. Alternate dry ingredients mixed with flour & buttermilk. Don't overbeat or it'll be dry. No extra beating at the end either. Run a knife through the batter once in the pan to reduce the bubbles - smoother top. 'Don't remember if I set the timer for 20 or 25, but I know it wasn't more. Using 2 9" pans, greased & floured. Beautiful cake. 'Waiting for it to cool to remove & frost with that maple buttercream! Happy Birthday, E! SIXTEEN! :) Oh, you'll need all that frosting for a two layer cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Having read many reviews that this cake was dry, I tweaked it a bit. Used 1/2 c unsalted butter, cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup, creamed the butter and sugars together first, and after adding the eggs I added a cup of applesauce (half unsweetened plain, half cinnamon). I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 c milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice. Doubled the spices. Baked for 35 min in a 9x13 glass pan and it was PERFECT. For the frosting, I also took reviewer recommendations and cut it to half. Used 1/2 c butter, 2 c powdered sugar total, 1 tbsp plus 1/2 tsp of milk, and 1 tsp maple flavoring. I also added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the frosting and it was delicious. To everyone complaining about a dry, crumbly cake, ADD APPLESAUCE! And don't over-mix! Still moist and delicious the second day, though there isn't much of it left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I made it for a friends birthday party and it got great reviews. Works great as cupcakes :) The only change I made was using maple syrup instead of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I had trouble with the cake sticking to the bottom of the pan, use parchment paper, I had altered it to be vegan, so not completely a fair test of this recipe. I sort of pushed it together and used the excellent frosting with vegan butter. I also added freshly grated ginger and a touch of molasses and it was very tasty, just a mess to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I just baked this cake. It has a delicious flavor,but mine didn't cook in the middle. I tested it with a toothpick, which came out clean, but it was not nearly cooked in the middle. We will eat the parts around the middle like coffeecake, since it is so good. Next time I will use 3 pans as suggested in other reviews & I think it'll do nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. I am 14 and love to cook. I didn't couldn't find maple flovoring so I used rum frosting. It was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AthenaZandrite
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this three times for my dad's birthday now and each time everyone loves it. I had family who usually refuse to eat cake asking me to make this for their birthdays now. I usually double the spices because my dad really likes things full of flavor. I've also done a regular butter cream frosting with the spices added in and it also tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AthenaZandrite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I thought the spice was a bit on the heavy side. My daughter liked the amount of spice but didn't like the texture....so wasn't a keeper for either of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
The maple frosting is wonderful !! I made some pumpkin cupcakes and thought this icing would compliment them. WOW! It really did. My hubby thought it was maybe a little strong on the maple flavor, but he really liked them the next day. It is sweet, but hey, it's frosting. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Touchet, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States