New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This cake was delicious but there are a few things I would change for next time. First of all I would cut the frosting in half. I baked it in a 13x9 pan and there was literally about an inch of frosting. Also, 45 minutes is a little too long to bake it in a 13x9. When I took it out it was just starting to get black and hard aroung the edges. One last thing...next time I might add some raisins or nuts to the batter. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I struggled with how many stars to rate this cake. I was not impressed with the cake itself or the recipe directions but the frosting was a real winner. Traditionally, a cake of this type has pretty standard directions: cream the butter or shortening and sugar(s), add eggs one at time, then add the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the liquid, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. The second problem is that the baking time as directed is far too long. Even at 25 minutes, I believe my layer cake was overbaked, which I'm sure contributed to the third problem, which is that the cake was not nearly as moist as it should have been. The flavor was great, and I did add 1 tsp. of double-strength vanilla. Now the frosting is perfect - silky, fluffy, light and smooth, with just the right amount of maple flavor. But even here there was a problem. Other reviewers have commented they had too much frosting for their 9x13" cake. I, on the other hand, made a layer cake and did not have enough frosting to frost the sides. Unfortunately, given the issues with the mixing and baking instructions and the fact that this was on the drier side, I can only call this an average cake, even though the frosting was simply perfect and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was good, but I did have to modify it. Like others, my cake was done in 25 minutes, and I was very thankful for the reviews or I might have walked away from the oven and ended up with a burnt cake! I split the batter into two nine inch rounds, so that may have had something to do with it. Otherwise the recipe was great, tasted just like the spice cake I remember. The spice ratio was PERFECT but overall not quite strong enough for me, so I would probably increase the spices by half next time, just to my own preference. I didn't have any maple extract so I tried substituting some of the sugar in the frosting for real maple syrup. The texture was fine but the maple flavor was hardly noticeable--just a warning for anyone else who might try the same thing ;0). Otherwise it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MixieArmadillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
The frosting was superb! I added an extra 1/2 tsp. maple flavoring to the frosting since the flavor was too subtle. The cake, however, was very dry. I'll keep the frosting recipe and search for another spice cake recipe to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Spice cake is my favorite cake, as well. I have been wanting to try this recipe, but was worried the high ratings were more for the frosting than the cake. Not to worry! I did make a few changes, but nothing that substantially changed the recipe. Most of my changes were in the directions because I'm really anal when it come to preparation. First I sifted the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cloves, but not the white sugar. I substituted unsalted butter for the shortening and creamed it with the white and brown sugars. I then beat in the eggs (one at a time, as directed), as well as a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Finally, I added the flour mixture (in fourths) alternately with the buttermilk (in thirds), beginning and ending with the flour mixture. I know this sounds complicated and time consuming, but it really isn't. I baked my cake in a 13x9 pan for 35 minutes. 45 minutes is too long. I always use an oven thermometer, so I know my oven is correct. Anyway, I frosted it with a traditional cream cheese frosting, and my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it! So, thank you Stephanie, from both of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Spice cake and carrot cake are tied as my favorite. I loved this recipe, but made a couple of healthy changes. I used Splenda in place of the white sugar, olive oil in place of shortening, and added a cup of applesauce for moisture. I did not substitude anything in the frosting (best part), but cut it in half and had enough. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
i didnt make the cake...i was looking for a maple frosting recipe and found this, so i only made the frosting. but it deserves 5 stars, i'll definetly be using it again! i added a little extra maple and decreased the confectioners sugar by almost a cup. its a very sweet frosting as written. thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The cake itself is delicious and moist, with a wonderful texture. The smell of the cake baking had my son's mouth watering. We couldn't wait any longer and iced it while it was still slightly warm. I did make a couple of small changes -- I used all butter instead of butter and shortening, and half the quantity of icing was perfect for the sheet cake version. YUM! Next time, I will add some ginger and some allspice to the batter. To those who claim the cake is dry, I suspect that you're using too much flour. Make sure to sift it thoroughly BEFORE measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This spice cake has just the right amount of spice. It is neither too dry nor too moist and keeps well. To reduce the calories from sugar and fat, I topped each piece of cake with a dollop of Cool Whip instead of using the maple frosting. It made an excellent light topping. I wondered about the mixing instructions in the recipe. The order given is not the usual way of mixing cake batters. I mixed the ingredients in the following order: I creamed softened butter with the sugars, beat in the eggs one at a time, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk. This method worked well. Finally, be careful of baking time! I used a 13x9 pan. I first checked the cake after 30 minutes, and it was done after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
WHEN WILL I LEARN??? This cake is not good. It's dry, just like pretty much everyone else has said... but noooooooooooo, I had to try it anyway thinking my superior talent in the kitchen could side step the inequities of this recipe. The edges of the cake were hockeypuck-esque. The inside was dry and crumbly. I creamed the sugar/shortening and even increased the shortening to meet 1/2 the sugar level. Beat in the eggs one at a time, added the dry mixture to the wet, adding buttermilk inbetween scoops of flour - didn't overmix. I gave it all I had... Please folks... stop rating the frosting! When will I learn to trust the reviews? When will I learn?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States