New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is the most wonderfully flavored, moist spice cake yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was good, but I did have to modify it. Like others, my cake was done in 25 minutes, and I was very thankful for the reviews or I might have walked away from the oven and ended up with a burnt cake! I split the batter into two nine inch rounds, so that may have had something to do with it. Otherwise the recipe was great, tasted just like the spice cake I remember. The spice ratio was PERFECT but overall not quite strong enough for me, so I would probably increase the spices by half next time, just to my own preference. I didn't have any maple extract so I tried substituting some of the sugar in the frosting for real maple syrup. The texture was fine but the maple flavor was hardly noticeable--just a warning for anyone else who might try the same thing ;0). Otherwise it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MixieArmadillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I didn't have cloves, so I used Allspice, and probably used too much. I believe this was a big mistake. The cake was, indeed, dry. I have a gas oven, and after 25 minutes, the cake was too done on the outside, but definitely not done on the inside. The icing was okay, but I would have liked a more buttery flavor. For some reason, I couldn't stand the smell of the icing when I was mixing it! I found this to be a strange cake and threw it out after having a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have found another winner!! Perfect is all I can say!! This is my second request to make this cake for a birthday today!! Awesome and don't change a thing if you love maple and love spice cake!! Beautiful together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this recipe over the holidays and everyone LOVED IT! It came out very tasty and moist. I did make one substitution on the icing and use some rum & brandy flavouring instead which really complemented the cake. It was delicious! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Perfect recipe! I made two of them becuase everyone love it so much. I baked one of them for 10 minutes less than recommended. It was much moister, and we preferred it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I doubled all of the spices, and used butter instead of shortening. It was delicious! Moist and dense, and I got raves. I also made a blackberry filling, and used Cream Cheese II frosting found on this website. This will definitely be my spice cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I have had this recipe in my recipe box since 2003 and have made it about a dozen times for everyone I know and it comes out fantastic everytime! Never had a problem with dryness. Thanks Stephanie for a wonderful recipe and getting me to make all my cakes from stratch from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Harden Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was a good recipe that translated well to cupcakes. The full recipe made about 18 regular-sized cupcakes, and LOTS of frosting. I used less than half of it. The frosting was the best part, though it was slightly greasy and shortening-y. I would make it again, but with a different frosting with maple added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States