New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Overall, it's a great cake.! I didn't use the recipe for frosting, as my bf doesn't care for the maple flavoring on non-breakfast foods. I used a cream cheese frosting instead and it worked well. It WAS slightly on the dry side, as others mentioned, and that was after adding about 1/3 cup sour cream. I would probably increase that just a bit more. I might also up the spices just a bit too, just for personal preference. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Love the recipe, made cupcakes with a butter cream filling. Every one praised for this dessert. Used maple sugar instead of regular cane sugar--outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The kids all ate it. Used butter instead of shortening. Mixed it like a regular cake recipe - not the crumble way. Frosted with a Easy Penuche Icing. Very moist, flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My uncle is not a fan of chocolate, but he does like spice cake. I made this for his birthday one year and he always requests it now. I usually make a layer cake rather than a sheet cake, and I think the extra icing between the layers helps keep the cake soft. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Deeeeelightfull! Made cupcakes. Also added a wee bit of vanilla to the icing and an extra tsp of maple. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Spice cake is my favorite cake, as well. I have been wanting to try this recipe, but was worried the high ratings were more for the frosting than the cake. Not to worry! I did make a few changes, but nothing that substantially changed the recipe. Most of my changes were in the directions because I'm really anal when it come to preparation. First I sifted the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cloves, but not the white sugar. I substituted unsalted butter for the shortening and creamed it with the white and brown sugars. I then beat in the eggs (one at a time, as directed), as well as a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Finally, I added the flour mixture (in fourths) alternately with the buttermilk (in thirds), beginning and ending with the flour mixture. I know this sounds complicated and time consuming, but it really isn't. I baked my cake in a 13x9 pan for 35 minutes. 45 minutes is too long. I always use an oven thermometer, so I know my oven is correct. Anyway, I frosted it with a traditional cream cheese frosting, and my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it! So, thank you Stephanie, from both of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Perfect! Spice cake is my granfather's favorite cake and I made this for his birthday - he loved it. I did make a few changes based on reviews and personal preference: did 1/2 whole wheat flour, 2t cinnamon, 2t nutmeg, and 1/2 t cloves, substituted butter for shortening and added 1/2 c applesauce. My grandfather loves penuch icing so I did that instead of the buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Great recipe. I reduced the baking time by 10 minutes (35 minutes for a 13x9 pan)as suggested in previous reviews. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This spice cake has just the right amount of spice. It is neither too dry nor too moist and keeps well. To reduce the calories from sugar and fat, I topped each piece of cake with a dollop of Cool Whip instead of using the maple frosting. It made an excellent light topping. I wondered about the mixing instructions in the recipe. The order given is not the usual way of mixing cake batters. I mixed the ingredients in the following order: I creamed softened butter with the sugars, beat in the eggs one at a time, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk. This method worked well. Finally, be careful of baking time! I used a 13x9 pan. I first checked the cake after 30 minutes, and it was done after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Very good. Next time I will add golden raisins to the spice cake though! A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States