New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I struggled with how many stars to rate this cake. I was not impressed with the cake itself or the recipe directions but the frosting was a real winner. Traditionally, a cake of this type has pretty standard directions: cream the butter or shortening and sugar(s), add eggs one at time, then add the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the liquid, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. The second problem is that the baking time as directed is far too long. Even at 25 minutes, I believe my layer cake was overbaked, which I'm sure contributed to the third problem, which is that the cake was not nearly as moist as it should have been. The flavor was great, and I did add 1 tsp. of double-strength vanilla. Now the frosting is perfect - silky, fluffy, light and smooth, with just the right amount of maple flavor. But even here there was a problem. Other reviewers have commented they had too much frosting for their 9x13" cake. I, on the other hand, made a layer cake and did not have enough frosting to frost the sides. Unfortunately, given the issues with the mixing and baking instructions and the fact that this was on the drier side, I can only call this an average cake, even though the frosting was simply perfect and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Very good cake! No problems with moisture, as I layered the buttermilk with the dry ingredients and turned back the baking time. Just a note, I don't usually have buttermilk hanging around, so if I have a recipe that calls for it I combine 1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. This is a great substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this frosting to go on a different cake, and it was perfect! I halved the frosting recipe and had enough for a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The maple buttercrem frosting was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was good, but to me the maple flavor did not come out strongly at all in the frosting. I added more than 2 tsp. and it still didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisan
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good cake!! I made it to have on christmas eve. I did make some changes though... to make it easier, I used a yellow cake mix I had on hand. I combined the mix with all of the spices (definitely add extra!!), then I beat the mixture with the water and oil that the boxed mix called for and beat in the eggs seperately. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. The frosting recipe was perfect! Overall, I didn't find the cake to be too dry. The amount of frosting made was perfect for a layered cake and compliment it very nicely. It made it VERY sweet, but thats exactly what I like so no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
HI! I was in a hurry and needed a great tasting maple frosting. This was great! I twisted it up a little, I didn't have the best maple flavoring, I had to use a lot more than a tsp. So, I also used some Coffee Mate Pumpkin Spice coffee creamer in the liquid form instead of so much milk. I doubled the recipe as well. YUMMY! Oh and I used more butter than shortening , just for personal taste reasons. I put this on a spice cake I had. Next time I'll surely try the cake recipe too. This is fun, delicious, and has fantastic flavor! I got the idea to use coffee mate since I use the Vanilla Coffee Mate Fat Free mixed in with eggs and cinnamon for french toast batter. Try it, it's yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Excellent spice cake. Added a little extra nutmeg and ginger instead of cloves. Very tender and flavourful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I didn't try the cake, but I picked this recipe for the frosting. I was looking for something different, and maple frosting sounded wonderful on top of the applesauce spice cake I made. Instead of maple flavoring, I added maple syrup. Like another reviewer noted, the flavor wasn't very strong, so I ended up adding around five to six tablespoons of real maple syrup. I also used 1 cup of butter instead of 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening. In my opinion, it gives a better taste and a fluffier frosting. All in all, the frosting had wonderful coloring and gave just a hint of maple flavor. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Made this for a bridal shower and everyone loved it! It was an awesome combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States