New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
WHEN WILL I LEARN??? This cake is not good. It's dry, just like pretty much everyone else has said... but noooooooooooo, I had to try it anyway thinking my superior talent in the kitchen could side step the inequities of this recipe. The edges of the cake were hockeypuck-esque. The inside was dry and crumbly. I creamed the sugar/shortening and even increased the shortening to meet 1/2 the sugar level. Beat in the eggs one at a time, added the dry mixture to the wet, adding buttermilk inbetween scoops of flour - didn't overmix. I gave it all I had... Please folks... stop rating the frosting! When will I learn to trust the reviews? When will I learn?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
ive made this cake every year for 5 years on my boyfriends birthday, its his favorite... and its so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soudan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is like straight butter and sugar. The recipe made plenty of frosting and maybe that was the problem, but the butter was overpowering and even after adding an extra 1/2 tsp of maple, it was bland. It was not light by any means and the thud in my stomache was unmistakeable. I am sorry but this was awful. I threw half the cake away and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I was looking for an icing to go with a boxed spice cake so I didn't make the cake for this recipe but I did make the icing following the recipe precisely. The icing was delicious with just a hint of maple, not an overpowering maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Yummy. The frosting was a little sweet but I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This rating is for the Maple Buttercream only, which is great! The only thing that would make it better would be a dash of salt. I used it to ice Pumpkin Cake III, which I filled with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I haven't tried the cake yet but the frosting is wonderful. I use 2 teaspoons of maple flavor. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I am giving "Thumbs Up" for the icing! I ended up using a different spice cake recipe, similar but more buttermilk to flour ratio to ensure it came out moist enough... and I am glad I did that because ended up being just right. It would have been too dry to use any less. This cake was for Dad's birthday, so it needed to be great and couldn't be dry. This was a perfect combination, and this cake was gone quite quickly! My husband still is talking about it, and keeps telling me I need to keep this recipe. Thank you for suggesting such a "hit" with a different flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemp, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Dry seems to be the word of the day with this cake. I used ginger instead of cloves and added some vanilla to the cake and the frosting. Also, I did not have any maple flavoring, so I just used maple syrup instead of the milk in the frosting, which was amazing. I had ample frosting for my two-layer cake -- I'm not sure what the problem was with other reviewers there. However, I must strongly agree with the rest who said the cake was dry, dry, dry. The problem is not with the preparation, as I followed a more classic preparation technique of creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding the eggs, sifting the flour, and so forth. Though the flavor was good, the cake was dry to the point that it made me not like it. I have had two different people tell me that spice cakes are always dry. Maybe that's so -- I'll try a different recipe next time to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
made this in a bundent cake pan for grandpa's office, the frosting smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States