New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Not the most popular of cake flavors anymore, but this recipe is solid and delicious. It's the one I pull out if ever spice cake is on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I love spice cake and made these birthday cupcakes for a friend. I used a real maple butter cream with egg whites so I could make them look like ice cream scoops on top of the cakes. The glaze was simply powdered sugar and maple flavoring with a touch of food coloring to caramelize it's look. They came out so great I will be using this again, especially when the holidays come. They would taste great with eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Perfect! Moist and delicious with just the right amount of spices. We don't like cloves so just added a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg. I measure flour by weight - used 11 oz. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I used the frosting recipe on a box mix for spice cake. It was delicious. I only put in 3cups confectioner's sugar and it was plenty sweet. Also I substituted one tsp of the milk with some vanilla. I was worried the maple flavor was going to be too strong. Lastly, I grated fresh nutmeg across the top for a small decor. My entire extended family really liked it. This was a great recipe for the frosting at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Maybe it was something I did wrong, very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this cake for my mom's birthday and it turned out wonderfully moist and delicious. I sifted the flour before measuring and then sifted the dry ingredients together. I followed the suggestion to use all butter. The frosting was the perfect amount to frost an 8" layer cake. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The cake itself is delicious and moist, with a wonderful texture. The smell of the cake baking had my son's mouth watering. We couldn't wait any longer and iced it while it was still slightly warm. I did make a couple of small changes -- I used all butter instead of butter and shortening, and half the quantity of icing was perfect for the sheet cake version. YUM! Next time, I will add some ginger and some allspice to the batter. To those who claim the cake is dry, I suspect that you're using too much flour. Make sure to sift it thoroughly BEFORE measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I thought it was super yummy... as did the husband. I watched the cooking time and it wasn't dry at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
i didnt make the cake...i was looking for a maple frosting recipe and found this, so i only made the frosting. but it deserves 5 stars, i'll definetly be using it again! i added a little extra maple and decreased the confectioners sugar by almost a cup. its a very sweet frosting as written. thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My family loved this cake and it was a very easy cake to make. The cake itself was very light compared to other spice cakes I've tried and the maple frosting was not overpowering. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States