Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I made this dough 2 times and all I could taste was the lard. I think I am making this right. Sorry I dont like this dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is excellent. This is my first time, and it turn out very very good. Every one enjoy it so much during our Thanksgiving family gathering time. The crust was very flaky. Easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
YES! This is the best ever pie crust! I have tried crusts, w/ butter, shortening,and oil. Lard is the key! This was so easy and it turned out awesome. I made it first w/ a chicken pot pie. Very easy, turned out perfect, flakey and browned perfectly, no burnt edges. I even tried to over knead it to see what happened. It made no difference it was perfect. Then I made it with an apple pie. I Added 1T sugar, 1T vanilla and 1T Cinnamon. Everybody ranted an raved at how good the pie was and this is a group of gourmet cooks & restaurant workers. I will never try another Pie crust recipe. Thanks Elaine! UPDATE: for those of you substituting butter/shortening/margarine DON'T! The key is the lard. The lard makes this crust light & flaky, like no other oil can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Thanks to the tips that you can find quite easily at the bottom of this recipe. I have been called the perfect pastry man amongst all the fans of my homemade pies. following this easy to prepare pastry recipe you just can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was my first attempt at baking. In fact just about anything I make is a first. I'm retired and just begining to learn the ropes. My wife still works so I try to fix her dinner when she gets home. I made this pie crust for the luscious chicken pot pie (also on this site) and the end result was exceptional. I didn't even make a mess with the flour. The crust was flakey (I think that's a good thing) and the taste was great. If I can make this anyone can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
GREAT! i quartered this recipe (made only 2 servings) to use to top my turkey pot pie dishes. Baked up nicely.. made me look like a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAXSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I will never use another pastry recipe again. This was great tasting, use to roll and flakey. I was worried at first b/c it was soo stickey I thought of adding more flour but after cooking I was glade I didn't. JUST WOUNDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I made this crust for my chocolate cookie dough pie. The pie was excellent, and I got rave reviews about the pie crust - that it was flakey and flavourful from my mom, sister, step-grandma, to step-cousins. There were five pies at Thanksgiving, and the one I made with this crust was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States