Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
It had been forever, that I had made a pastry crust. This turned out good. I made it into a fresh, frozen sour cherry pie for dessert at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I've tried many crusts, this is my favorite. Easy to roll out and very flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This pastry really lived up to its name today. I made it exactly by the recipe. It was a bit sticky, but, after it was chilled, I decided to roll it out between waxed paper. Great idea, or so I thought. It rolled out beutifully, no tears, just perfect. However, it would not come off of the waxed paper. So, since I'm one not to be defeated, and because I didn't want to start again, I just scraped the dough off of the waxed paper, reshaped it, floured it and the board, and rolled it out again. It again rolled out beautifully. I'm thinking at this point that this mess will be the toughest worst pastry I've ever made, but I plowed ahead. I used it with Bev's Chocolate Pie from this site, so it wasn't blind baked, just baked right along with the pie. I gotta tell you, this, even after the torture I put it through, was the best pie pastry I've ever made. My nephew even said he liked the "crust" better than the pie, although he didn't have any problem "forcing down" two large pieces. Great recipe. Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. I made sure to use exact amounts of everything, and it looked really nice. I then halved it, and refrigerated it all night. It ripped apart when rolling out. I tried to renead it, and it worked out better, but I still had to piece it together. The taste was to sweet for me as I like salty crusts. Also, I love lard crusts, but this one left the top of my mouth all greasy. Yuck. I'll try to find another recipe as I lost my favorite somewhere, and haven't been able to find a good replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
For the first time in years, here is a pastry recipe I really like. The pastry needs to be worked with at room temp--if you refrigerate it for later, leave it out on the counter for a while to bring it up to room temperature before rolling it out or it's not going to work easily. I used half lard and half shortening, also left out the vanilla as I don't care for it in pastry particularly. The vanilla might work well if making cream pies or similar, it was too much for me here. I suspect this recipe will work equally well with straight shortening, but it will change the texture somewhat. Nonetheless, this is a very tender pastry that is easy to roll out. It's even easy to fold over to get to the pie pan--I've not been able to do that with other pastry recipes I've had in the past, and I love it. And it can be rolled out thin as well, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Easy to make and so tasty! I used shortening instead of lard but otherwise followed the recipe word for word and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Great recipe! The flavor of this crust is amazing! I used it to make apple pie and couldn't believe how easy this crust rolled out and could be rolled out so thin! Just like my mom's pie crust, only now I know her secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I did it! I have tried tons of pastry recipes. I cook a lot and always get made fun of when I try pie because it never turns out right. This time it did!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I have never been one thats very good at making pastry i have always brought ready made. But never again this pastry is so easy to make and tastes wonderful in savoury and sweet pies its perfect.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Since Muslims are not allowed to take lard so I substituted it with butter and it turned out great. The recipe was very easy to follow and it was my first time making a pie. I used chicken & mushroom cream with chicken cheese sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States