Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I have made pie crust from scratch for years, but decided needed a change, I LOVE THIS! I have no problem using lard, but in this case had none, so used all crisco..it was perfect. I used all cold ingrediants so no refridgeration was needed after mixing. It rolled beautifully and baked just lovely. If it is a bit sticky after mixing just flour your counter and put a bit on the dough itself..don't add to much flour then it will not stick together. Also if it is too cold it will crack and not roll out so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Just like my Grandparent's recipe. They owned a apple, cherry and corn farm so they made a lot of pies. Not corn pies of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is great! I needed a pastry to go on some Turkey Pot Pie filling, so I made this recipe leaving out the sweet stuff and added some butter. I cut triangles of dough, then baked them on a cookie sheet at 375F for about 15 mins till golden. I then placed them on individual portions of pot pie (restaurant trick). The pastry is flavorful and wonderfully flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have made this pastry twice in the past two weeks. The first time, I used it for a double crust turkey pot pie, and this week for 2 fresh fruit pies and turnovers. I substituted shortening for the lard, as I cannot handle the taste or smell of lard. It has come out great. I would use butter if it was not so expensive, perhaps for a pie for the holidays. The caution stands that DONT add additional flour. It is really creamy, but as you knead it, it comes into a nice smooth dough. Also, I have found it doesn't hold up too well if left to sit for too long (harder to roll out). Next time, I will put it in the fridge till ready to use. Great flavor too, I like the addition of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very tasty and easy to work with, but not really like a regular pie crust. Almost bisquit-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great pie pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I use unsalted butter in place of the lard and only use half the suggested amount. I also save the egg white for brushing the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This crust was light, flaky and delicious! You haven't tasted perfect crust until you taste a crust made with lard! To substitute butter or shortening, you are removing the very ingredient that makes this crust special. This is very similar to a crust my mom used differing with the addition of the vanilla extract! Make this crust, it is worth trying. Just make sure you have fresh lard that hasn't expired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so easy and tasty. I made it in the morning and left it in the fridge until I was ready to use it, the only thing I changed was that I used butter instead of Lard. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy Read

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I am truly amazed. The traditional tourtiere Christmas dinner became my responsibility this year but I very rarely make pastry. I man-handled the dough (I also omitted the sugar and vanilla) and it turned out amazing. Even my mother-in-law commented on how good the tourtiere was. Such an easy recipe and very tender and flaky. This recipe is a keeper and I will share it with anyone who is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthepink
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States