Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used to make my own pastry years ago and gave up because I could never get a nice flaky pastry. This recipe was the easiest and nicest texture. I made it all in my food processor, took it out, kneaded it, wrapped it, refrigerated. When I was ready to use, it rolled out great. Yummy. I will now be making my own pastry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I decided to try this pastry as my first attempt at pastry!! Wow! I was impressed. I have always watched my mom and sister struggle with the pastry at every holiday and decided I'd stick with what I was good at. I wanted to try it this year and stumbled upon this recipe. I had no issues with it, it was PERFECT! I used butter and shortening instead of lard and it was still amazing. I made a second batch and added the liquid before I cut the shortening/butter in and it STILL worked. That's a miracle pastry. In my opinion, thats what this should be called - Miracle Pastry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We did not like this recipe at all. After many years of using the same never fail pie pastry recipe I decided to compare mine to another "never fail pastry". It didn't occur to me until after the pastry was made that the ratio of lard and flour is wrong. I didn't check but I think that most good pastry recipes on this site have a ratio of 3 parts flour and 2 parts lard. This recipe is 2:1. With a ratio like that you end up with a gooey mess that tastes like lard when baked. It did turn out flaky so I gave it 2 stars for that but it tasted awful. I chilled this pastry overnight and still had problems. As i was working with it I kept drawing in a lot of flour and even then I had to piece it together in the pan. If you are going to use this recipe I would suggest you add at least another 3/4 c.flour to the recipe. By adding the flour right away at least you will have control of how much flour you are using. I will continue to use my own never fail pie pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The crust was flat and not tasty. It didn't even have that nice melt in your mouth flavour. I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Never had this much trouble with dough before. Will definitely stick with the recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahDerks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
First time making pastry and it turned out awesome!!! Another something today....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Perfect each and every time. I add the vanilla when using it for fruit pies and omit when using for, well, the non-fruit pies I guess. I usually end up with more than enough for a double pie recipe. I rewrap and freeze the left over pieces to use for other purposes when needed. Thank you for sharing this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My first from scratch pie crust. Absolutely beautiful. The flavor is awesome, flaky and just so good. I used lard and I love that it is not a sweet crust, lends well to sweet fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Moist and flaky....needed to be baked 20 minutes longer than recipe called for...the fluted crust edge lost its shape, otherwise ..really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving Pumpkin pies and it was very good. I remember my mom using lard for wonderful pie crust when I was growing up and wanted to try it myself. Made a very good crust. I did add just a tiny bit more flour but it came out wonderfully. I thought maybe next time I might use 1/2 butter and see how that works. It made a very flaky crust for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pyatt, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Gunter, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States