Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by piefiendables
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I can't use flour as I am allergic to wheat! I am also allergic to sugar... I used this recipe with Kamut flour and sugar replacement and it works perfect everytime! I have also used it with rye flour... my only bit of advice to do it this way is since the dough is sticker, chill it longer and roll out onto wax paper/saran and flip into pie shell!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piefiendables

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
YES!!! this is never never fail pastry...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have been baking pies forever. My mother taught me how to make the perfect pie before she died. This pie crust is better than anything I have used. Crazy good! makes really good cookies with the left over dough. Just add sugar and cinnamon and bake in strips. the kids and adults love them.. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Finally!, I made good pie pastry! :) However I couldnt get lard, so used half half shortening and butter. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
i made this and turned out great.. i want to make it today but i dont have any baking powder.. im wondering if it will still turn out good because alot of other pastry recipe do not call for baking powder.. hmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny~Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used to make my own pastry years ago and gave up because I could never get a nice flaky pastry. This recipe was the easiest and nicest texture. I made it all in my food processor, took it out, kneaded it, wrapped it, refrigerated. When I was ready to use, it rolled out great. Yummy. I will now be making my own pastry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I decided to try this pastry as my first attempt at pastry!! Wow! I was impressed. I have always watched my mom and sister struggle with the pastry at every holiday and decided I'd stick with what I was good at. I wanted to try it this year and stumbled upon this recipe. I had no issues with it, it was PERFECT! I used butter and shortening instead of lard and it was still amazing. I made a second batch and added the liquid before I cut the shortening/butter in and it STILL worked. That's a miracle pastry. In my opinion, thats what this should be called - Miracle Pastry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We did not like this recipe at all. After many years of using the same never fail pie pastry recipe I decided to compare mine to another "never fail pastry". It didn't occur to me until after the pastry was made that the ratio of lard and flour is wrong. I didn't check but I think that most good pastry recipes on this site have a ratio of 3 parts flour and 2 parts lard. This recipe is 2:1. With a ratio like that you end up with a gooey mess that tastes like lard when baked. It did turn out flaky so I gave it 2 stars for that but it tasted awful. I chilled this pastry overnight and still had problems. As i was working with it I kept drawing in a lot of flour and even then I had to piece it together in the pan. If you are going to use this recipe I would suggest you add at least another 3/4 c.flour to the recipe. By adding the flour right away at least you will have control of how much flour you are using. I will continue to use my own never fail pie pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The crust was flat and not tasty. It didn't even have that nice melt in your mouth flavour. I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Never had this much trouble with dough before. Will definitely stick with the recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahDerks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States