Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great crust I added sugar to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Am I impressed or what! This is an excellent recipe. My husband said that this was the best apple pie that I had ever made and I have been making pies for 50 years. The pastry was lovely to look at and so, so flakey. Clumped together easily and rolled out easily. I used Crisco because that is what I had on hand. Might try to reduce the shortening a bit next time to see if there is any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Given that I’ve tried a VERY popular pie crust on this site with this same 2:1 ratio of flour to fat and it was a complete disaster, I preempted that same experience with this recipe by reducing the lard to 3/4 cup. Perfection. With the exception of the “too much fat” issue, all remaining ingredients in this recipe, from the egg yolk to the vinegar, indicated it was designed for full, rich flavor and tender flakiness. It delivered just that (and worked well taking the easy way out with the food processor to boot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
5 stars because I butchered the recipe and it still turned out amazing! I accidentally only put in 1 cup of flour at first. When I added the wet ingredients it was sticky mess. I added the other cup and kneaded it in until it was smooth which took a bit. Yet even with all the kneading it turned out flakey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Perfect EVERY TIME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Have made this numerous times, very delicious! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Easy to use. Roll out within plastic film for easier handling.I like to reduce lard by 1/4 it works out well and has just a tad fewer calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
wow this was great! the only thing I did different was use about 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup oil instead of lard. thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I have to add my voice to the choir. This is the first piecrust that I've been proud of. Make sure everything is cold before you put the ingredients together, and if possible, use a floured marble slab to roll it out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
The only thing I change is omitting the vanilla. It really does seem to be fail safe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States