Never-Never Ever-Ever Fail Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
The key that is missing here is in the preparation. This particular recipe has been in my own family for generations, and it has never failed - providing you follow these particular directions: any seasoned fudge maker will realise those first three ingrediants in the saucepan need to be boiled about five minutes - but no more - and no less. The preparation instructions fail to mention how long it must be boiled. Five minutes is the key. When we allow this fudge to set in our household, we usually refridgerate it until set. Once it has set about an hour or a bit longer, I wouldn't keep it in the fridge permanantly, as it can get hard as a rock if left too long, although some members of my family have left it there and had no major trouble. If you like firmer fudge, leave in the fridge. If you like softer, allow it to set, and then take it out. Good luck. *Also, please do not forget, while it is boiling for those five minutes, do not stop stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I use a similar recipe with the following slight differences: 1 3/4 cups sugar, dash of salt, 2 1/4 cups of mini marshallows (melt much easier), and 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. Boiling for five minutes and stirring constantly is very important. I add the nuts and vanilla after the chocoate and marshmallows are melted. I've had trouble with fudge in the past, so I was thrilled to find an easier way to make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I have just made this fudge for the kajillionth time & I still have never had a failure. I'm puzzled by the high failure rate. Altho I was VERY remiss in not specifying the FIVE min. boil & stir. Tx to those who caught that. Todays batch is gift worthy. Good luck to all. Sincerely, Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Stir while boiling for 5 min!!!(very important)and constantly stir!!! I would use mini marshmallows, because they disslove easier(about 192 mini ones equal 16 large ones). I only used 3 large ones and they rest where mini, and it took for ever to get the 3 large ones to disslove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I thought this recipe was easy and the fudge was delicious. I also made it using one cup of peanut butter in place of the chocolate chips and it turned out wonderfully. I do suggest you let the marshmallows melt before adding in the choc chips and vanilla for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
If this is your idea of no fail fudge guess again. I tried this twice and both times I followed your instructions to the letter and it FAILED! This fudge is no worth trying out. It tasts terrible, wont set and dont even resemble fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've made this recipe about 20 times and each time you need to tweak it a little bit. It is a great base fudge recipe that you will be able to customize your ingredients depending on flavor and or additions such as nuts and/or chips etc ...The other recipes that use condensed milk are really not fudge ... if you like the taste then fine, but fudge is the melting of sugar and cream or evaporated milk and melted chocolate with a marshmallow creme or even marshmallows. The fudge makers of the candy world use Mazetta and invertase, but that is going too far for such a simple fun snack. Enjoy and be bold, experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was a pretty good fudge recipe. I will stick to using the marshmallow cream recipe though. It is much creamier. This dries out if left in the refridgerator, and I have never had that problem with fudge. But Does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
NEVER AGAIN. I THOUGHT I COULD MAKE THIS WORK EVEN AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS NOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Wonderful recipe. I made for the holidays and it turned out a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States