Never Kiss a Yammy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I mashed a couple tablespoons of butter into the sweet potatoes and used butter instead of margerine for the topping I mixed a 1/4 cup of oatmeal with the brown sugar and added a handful of chopped walnuts), and added nutmeg and cinnamon. Other than that, I kept everything the same. Simple but oh, so good. TIP: Use fresh squeezed orange juice with just a tbsp. orange juice concentrate stirred in. It's lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was delicious. There was a lot of orange flavor which I really enjoyed. The only change I made was that I boiled the potatoes instead of baking them to save some time. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Very nice. I boiled the potatoes and didn't have any orange peels, but I quite enjoyed the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I boiled the potatoes to save some time. I also added a 1 cup of brown sugar for a little extra sweetness. Next time I wont add as much orange juice, it made the potatoes thinner than I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMKCrow

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Love this recipe! Substituted butter, microwaved the potatoes for about 15 minutes. Cut a slit lengthwise in each cooked potato and used a pair of bent tongs to peel the skin off. I used a mixer to make everything super smooth. I transferred the mixture to a small round corning ware dish. To top it off, in a bowl I crushed three cinnamon graham crackers, added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and about three tablespoons of melted butter. I mixed everything till it had a meal consistency and then sprinkled it on the potatoes in the corning dish. With the oven at 425 degree F, I baked the mixture for five minutes, just to get everything golden and crispy. Result: YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milworker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The only thing I changed was upping the orange peel to 1 tsp. However, I used small sweet potatoes, so it came out soupy. I baked them for about 20 min to dry them out a bit, which helped the texture. The flavor was great. I think if I had used larger potatoes, I may have not thought the dish was flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUM! I used honey (from my brother's bees!) instead of brown sugar, butter instead of margarine, and I scaled the recipe for one big sweet potato. : ) Also, added just a pinch of salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe! A couple of things sweet potatoes have much more flavor when baked. You lose flavor and nutritional value by boiling. If short on time microwave to get them started and then finish off in the oven so the heat does it magic with the natural sugar in the sweet potatoes they taste so much richer. We like it better with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States