Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I'd officially sworn off homemade pie crust, but my husband was begging me to try making it again. This recipe is incredible! Very simple, cheap ingredients, and hardly any time at all to make. It was buttery, flaky and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was the easiest pie crust to work with ~ I will never go back to the "old pie crust" recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent, my aunt, who is the family pie baker, was impressed, and she is not easily impressed. When I told her how easy it was, she said "there is no such thing as easy pie crust." This recipe proves her wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great recipe, very easy. I tried this with a lemon meringue pie. I am not sure which was more delicious, the pie or the crust. It holds up very well with heavy fillings, it has a shortbread-like consistency. I am looking forward to trying this with a chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is the BEST I've ever tasted! It's great for Chicken Pot Pie and it's so easy. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Wow, I was REALLY skeptical on the outcome of this recipe. I'm an avid baker and tried this more out of curiosity. I've heard of using vinegar in pie crust before (vinegar relaxes the gluten so the dough doesn't get tough as easily with overhandling, therefore creating more tender crusts), but I never heard of adding egg. I made just half the recipe (which was PLENTY for two crusts!), but used 50/50 butter and Crisco. It's a sticky dough and I found it hard to pat into the pan, so I rolled it out. The dough was real elastic-like and I was thinking this could never be flaky. I made a three-berry pie with this crust, baking at 400 degrees and the results were amazing. Tender, flaky and flavorful. I used 1.5 teaspoon salt to compensate for the flavorless Crisco. TIP - just make sure you roll/pat the bottom crust thin or it will have a hard time cooking through. I bake all my pies on the lowest level in my oven, this one too. Overall, this is everything you want in a crust - flaky and tender. And it's also very forgiving. You can overhandle this and it won't toughen up on you. I've used this about 5-6 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was the easiest pie crust ever to make. And its so flaky and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Ruhland Wirtzfeld
Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Very tasty pie crust, flaky and delicious. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bl00m00n

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Recommended to me on the RE, this was sooo very easy to mix..with a fork. For the top I didn't want to cover it so instead I took some previous pics inspiration that I've seen before and used my [[free]] M&M cookie cutters, as well as flower/stars and rolled balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Excellent and very easy crust. I only made half the recipe for one crust and it was so much I will make two crust out of half the recipe next time and roll it out. I didn't have butter flavored crisco so I used regular, it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States