Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Yes!!!!! Perfect! Easier than my favorite drop biscuits! Used 4 sticks butter, straight from freezer and microwaved 1 minute, added ice water only as needed (hardly any necessary, but used a pretty big egg and a little extra vinegar by accident). Used KitchenAid for whole thing (pulsing at the beginning for the first set of ingredients so as not to send them all over the kitchen). Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. Patted into pan. Made enough for three-plus 9-inch pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
WOW! This was my VERY first time making pies - and they came out WONDERFUL, with an amazing crust! I added a tsp of vanilla - as well as substituted a quality aged balsamic - since I didn't have distilled white... and it still came out REALLY really good! Thank you SO much for posting this, I'll definitely be using it MUCH more in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made my first pie crust today! I've been so worried about making one thinking that I was going to have difficulties making it work and none of the bad stuff happened!! It went so smooth that I'm going to make another one just to see if I was dreaming!! This recipe was so wonderful to work with and rolling my first dough was so easy. There is a down side to this wonderful recipe... It means that it will be easier to bake more "FAT PILLS" that I'll "wear" well. LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
will use this again!! very flaky and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I made this crust only using half the ingredients and it turned out to be the perfect amount for one pie. The crust was flaky and golden brown. My wife even commented on how it tasted like her mom's crust. I'll never use a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
It is never fail! It's very easy, I used this to make my first pie crust from scratch and everyone was impressed! It's tender and delicious. Never going back to store bought crusts again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moravia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I love this recipe. I've used the Betty Crocker recipe for years and recently decided to try this because everyone said it was so easy and good! I don't have a food processor and on a whim decided not to use my cutter. I used my electric beaters to cut the shortening and to blend it all. It's a mess, use a deep bowl, but the pastry pulls easily off the beaters and because it's so easy to work with... it's easy cleanup, too. I cut the recipe in two the second time I tried it and used a whole egg. Barely makes enough for a top and bottom, but I will continue to cut in two because I usually only make one pie at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the last couple years.....I forgot to rate it. I love it, love it, love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was always embarrassed to bake pies as gifts because I never knew how my crust would turn out (too tough, too crumbly, etc.) Not any more - I LOVE this recipe! It's very easy, forgiving, and makes more than enough for two deep dish pie shells. Best of all it tastes fabulous and is always super flaky! No more store-bought crusts for me! I've used the suggestion of 50/50 regular Crisco and real butter & it works great that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is the first pie crust that I have made successfully. I used it this morning to make a wheat crust for my Spinach, Mushroom Quiche. I decreased the sugar in it so it was more appropriate for what I was making. I will use this from here on out....no more store bought crust for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States