Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Was awesome! I had an excellent left-over stew, so I made my very first pot pie. This crust was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This pie crust was and is awesome!! I used it for chicken pot pie and it was so flaky and was just beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Saying I have always hated making pie crusts is an understatement; I've tried every non-roll pie crust on this site because of my trepidation in rolling out pie crust dough (and the numerous disappointments over the years). I will say I have made some good non-roll pie crusts, but my goal has been to find a rolled pie crust recipe I can learn to use and have a really flaky crust as a result. Well, I must say, this crust turned out incredibly flaky and great tasting! In fact, I could hardly believe I made it. I did follow some suggestions of others and halve the recipe, but use a whole egg and 1 T of sugar. It did crack in one spot and the upper crust was fragile - each time I cut a piece it fell off - I believe I caused that from pressing the top up higher to make sure the sides wouldn't shrink down into the pan. The dough was a sticky mess; I actually had to roll it 3 different times because it was sticking to everything. I finally rolled it out between wax paper sheets as another reviewer suggested, and still had to peel it off the wax paper in some spots. So, all that being said - the result was simply wonderful and I've decided I need to force myself to work with this recipe to fix the problems (that I might have caused) because the result was so forgiving and good. Any dough that can take being rolled out 3 times, having extra flour thrown on it 3 times, etc, etc and still result in a great pie crust is worth trying again and working out the kinks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made way more crust than needed and when baked the crust shrank completely off the sides - made it very thick on bottom and only about 1/2 inch up sides. Had to remake crust because if I had put filling in, it would have looked like there was no crust at all. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
So easy to make and tastes's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very easy and delicious. Makes more than 2 crusts. I followed another's post and halved the recipe, using the whole egg and less water. Baked to a beautiful golden brown. It is a heavier crust, and I'll probably use less shortening next time. Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This pie crust was easy to work with and tasted good, but did not work well in my deep dish pie pan, the sides melted right to the bottom. I also had problems with it cracking and seperating while baking in a regular pie pan. I have made this twice now both rolled out and pressed in, and it was hit or miss both times. I only got one pie shell to turn out, but when it did it was good. I was really hoping this was going to be my new recipe, but not gonna happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My husband made this yesterday while I was making the chicken pot pie IX recipie and it turned out wonderfully! You really don't have to roll it out just shape it to whatever pan you are using-we ended up using a deep casserole dish. Top marks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was great and super fast! I made it in the food processor. Didn't quite have 4 cups of flour but used what I had. Used butter (don't usually have shortening on hand) and not sure I used the whole 2 cups of that either...just cut up some butter and threw it in (we buy our butter in bulk so its not pre-marked/measured). And I did roll it out since I was using it for the top of my chicken pot pie. If I had tried I am pretty sure I could have gotten 2 crusts from it, but was in a hurry so i just rolled it out and threw it on the top. It was a super quick and yummy tasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is the most amazing recipe!! I've never made crust before because it seemed so intimidating. But I tried this one and I will NEVER buy crust again. It was so easy, and so delicious! I made chicken pot pie with this, pressed the bottom crust in and rolled the top crust. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittymom82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States