Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Perfect. Compliments every time. I make 4-5 crusts with this recipe and use it for pie, chicken pot pie, beef Wellington, you name it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
very easy to handle, fantastic results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I can't put in print the words that came out of my mouth as I attempted this recipe. Like some other reviewers, I found that the dough came out entirely too wet/gooey. And this in our very dry climate. Anyway, I added & added flour to the point that I had a GIGANTIC ball of dough that STILL fell apart. It may have had to do with the fact that this is a hot July day--didn't help my disposition and apparently did not help the dough. To be fair, on my SECOND attempt (same hot July day), the dough came out a bit less gooey, and, with the addition of at least another 1/2 cup flour, was acceptable to work with. Pie is in oven--we shall see. A piece of the edge already fell off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This crust tastes amazing! But, it doesn't hold together at all! I used a ton of flour to roll it out with, and it still had a very greasy texture to it. The pies ended up looking gorgeous, but as soon as I put a knife in to cut it the crust just crumbled and didn't hold form at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is my go-to pie crust always. Funny, though, when I first started making it I must have not added the vinegar. I'm not sure what the vinegar is for in terms of the baking chemistry (or taste), but I finally added it last time and really didn't like the taste or the smell. I will keep doing the same recipe sans vinegar since it always turns out well without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
A+ a thousand time. I have been using this pie crust recipe for 3 yrs now. I replace the 1/2 cup ice cold water, with I cold milk. Refridgerate over night, then roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmdl2bl
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
The crust was better than the pie I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
this recipe worked better for me using 1 cup butter flavored shortening than 2 cups. Maybe it's because I live at a higher altitude??? Great pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Too much fat and too much liquid made for a heavy, greasy, unworkable dough. Even adding the liquid carefully was not enough to make up for too much shortening. Lesson learned - I didn't read the recipe carefully - and should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I always make 4 single pie crusts out of this recipe, freezing 4 disks in the freezer and stick them in the fridge the day before I'm going to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States