Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
very easy to handle, fantastic results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I can't put in print the words that came out of my mouth as I attempted this recipe. Like some other reviewers, I found that the dough came out entirely too wet/gooey. And this in our very dry climate. Anyway, I added & added flour to the point that I had a GIGANTIC ball of dough that STILL fell apart. It may have had to do with the fact that this is a hot July day--didn't help my disposition and apparently did not help the dough. To be fair, on my SECOND attempt (same hot July day), the dough came out a bit less gooey, and, with the addition of at least another 1/2 cup flour, was acceptable to work with. Pie is in oven--we shall see. A piece of the edge already fell off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This crust tastes amazing! But, it doesn't hold together at all! I used a ton of flour to roll it out with, and it still had a very greasy texture to it. The pies ended up looking gorgeous, but as soon as I put a knife in to cut it the crust just crumbled and didn't hold form at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is my go-to pie crust always. Funny, though, when I first started making it I must have not added the vinegar. I'm not sure what the vinegar is for in terms of the baking chemistry (or taste), but I finally added it last time and really didn't like the taste or the smell. I will keep doing the same recipe sans vinegar since it always turns out well without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
A+ a thousand time. I have been using this pie crust recipe for 3 yrs now. I replace the 1/2 cup ice cold water, with I cold milk. Refridgerate over night, then roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmdl2bl
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
The crust was better than the pie I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
this recipe worked better for me using 1 cup butter flavored shortening than 2 cups. Maybe it's because I live at a higher altitude??? Great pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Too much fat and too much liquid made for a heavy, greasy, unworkable dough. Even adding the liquid carefully was not enough to make up for too much shortening. Lesson learned - I didn't read the recipe carefully - and should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I always make 4 single pie crusts out of this recipe, freezing 4 disks in the freezer and stick them in the fridge the day before I'm going to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I made six blackberry pies using this recipe for my crusts and they were delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States