Never Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
There was something about using the vinegar and then allowing the dough to refrigerate overnight that it rolled out easier than any other crust I have tried. I believe the acidity improves the dough's ease of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the ultimate pie shell recipe. I have used this recipe for my chicken pot pie recipe for fifteen years and it turns out everytime. A true family favorite and loved by family and guests alike. Easy peasy lemon squeezy and yum delicious... enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My aunt actually found this recipe from a friend and then I found it on here. It is the best, the only thing we change is that we use butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I just love this recipe, I always have trouble with making pie dough,they always seem to tear easy, but this one I always will be using, so this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I found this recipe to be a bit tender to work with, even after chilling it in the fridge for 24 hours. The pie I was making called for the crust to be double in thickness, so I used the whole recipe for one pie shell. I think that if I'd tried to roll the dough any thinner I would have had a mess on my hands. That being said, it did bake up to be very flaky and the flavor was not bad. I took a cue from one of the other reviews and used butter flavored shortening and I think that was a good idea. I can't say that I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The best and easiest pie dough ever.Flaky,rich and a snap to roll out! My Aunt gave me this recipe and its just like my great grandmas only she used lard back in those days!Super recipe for the new bakers in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I added another cup of flour, only 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and also added 1 teaspoon of sugar. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I have never cooked a pie from scratch. I used this my first time and it turned out great. I don't know if there is better one but, this one was easy for me. I smoothed it out with wet hands when I put it in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I love this recipe...It is my go to pie crust recipe.... I refrigerated my shortening before cutting it into my flour mixture...depending on humidity levels I either used or omitted the 1/2 tbsp water. Other than that this is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I tried this and it worked,, so what you say? Well I have tried to make piecrust for 45 years and this is the first one that ever turned out. Great for beginners, this recipie will give them confidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States