Never Fail Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was my first meatloaf ever and my boyfriend loved it. I substitute a spicy bbq sauce for the glaze and mix a mild and spicy bbq sauce for the hickory bbq sauce. I did this my first time because I forgot to pick up the hickory at the grocery store, and now I sub all the time. I serve with steamed rice and we spoon the glaze over that, too. Very easy for anyone that is not a seasoned home cook. Someone mentioned the stuffing mix was in chunks. I use stuffing mix in other recipes. The trick is to break it down while is it still sealed in the bag. I lay it flat and press on it with the palm of my hands. I love this recipe because if you mess up, it doesn't hurt the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
My family LOVES this meatloaf. I have changed it up a little bit. My children hate anyone elses meatloaf, but this is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I have made this recipe so many times, always turns out delicious, I don't change a thing! Best leftover meatloaf sandwiches the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HelenaZ
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been using my mom's meatloaf recipe for years, and happened upon this one while I was searching for what to do with 2.5 lbs of beef I needed to use up. I made it exactly as the recipe called for, using 93% lean beef, and it got rave reviews from my husband. He says it was "awesome" and needs to be added to regular rotation. I read all the other reviews saying it made too much glaze, but I thought it was just the right amount to spoon over each slice I cut. The key is to make sure it rests for 15 minutes before serving. This lets the glaze thicken slightly, so when you pour it over the loaves it is a real coating. It IS a sweet glaze, so I would recommend if you don't think meatloaves should have any sweetness, use plain bbq sauce or bbq mixed with ketchup for the glaze. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar bbq sauce in the meat and topped with a local-made sauce that is very vinegary mixed with the brown sugar. On the west side of Chicago, it is called "mild sauce" at our local BBQ place. Served with scalloped potatoes and steamed frozen peas, and it was truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
my 2 year old ate it. nuff said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
What a clever idea to use the dry bread stuffing mix!! I left out the bbq as the smoke-flavoring was kind of over-powering for us, but ketchup works great! Here's a meatloaf tip: make mini loaves in your cupcake tins. Only takes about a half hour to cook, holds together well and with a little ketchup on top, looks cute on the plate, and we all know presentation is important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
OK, but had an unusual taste. I used regular BBQ sauce, rather than hickory...perhaps that would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Nice start with an excellent finish. I started with this recipe as the barbecue sauce and herb-seasoned croutons appealed to me. But that’s where my interest ended, as the rest of the recipe seemed very basic. So by the time I got done embellishing this recipe to my liking I guess the only resemblance it had to the original recipe was, for the most part, the barbecue sauce and herb-seasoned croutons. So…I used a ground beef, veal and pork mix – 2 pounds total, so I scaled this recipe to 6 servings. I processed the croutons into fine crumbs. I didn’t want an overpowering taste of barbecue sauce, so I reduced it by a third, to 1/2 cup (again, for the recipe scaled to 6 servings for 2 pounds of meat). I made up the difference with the milk (I used half-and-half, increasing it to 1/2 cup). I wanted some contrast in texture, so I added 1/2 c. each of chopped celery and green pepper, and 1 c. of chopped onion. It isn’t meatloaf without these ingredients, if you ask me. I more than tripled the garlic, to a full tablespoon, and added 2 tsp. of Montreal Steak Seasoning. I skipped the glaze altogether. Meatloaf and sugar don’t work for me. No regrets on that either. What started out as maybe a three star recipe turned out to be a 5-star recipe after, I admit, fairly significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I cut this in half to use the pound and a quarter of ground beef I had. I used two medium eggs and I ended up using the whole amount of dry stuffing mix and a whole half cup of milk. I did add in about a tablespoon of worchestershire sauce, some oregano, basil, garlic/onion powder and I skipped the topping. At the last minute, I threw in about a half cup or so of shredded cheese I had on hand that needed to be used. Very close to the recipe I used from Kraft when I first met my husband and I started as a beginner cook, but with some minor changes to make my family happy. I liked that this came together in about ten minutes with cheap on hand items and that my littlest could help me make it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
After 12 years of marriage and countless meatloaf related tears and tantrums from my husband, my dogs and myself I have finally found a meatloaf recipe that isboth easy and delicious. The only substitution I made was I ommited the brown sugar and bbq sauce Because I am not a big fan of sweet tasting meats. I substituted 1/2 cup ketchup which I put in the meatloaf mix. About 20 minutes before I took it out of the oven I spread more ketchup over the top and then let it cook. The loaf as juicy,seasoned just right and my husband didn't run for the hills and my dogs aren't trying too call the humane society to rescue them frothe horror of mommy's meatloaf. Thankyou for contributing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States