Never Fail Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Epic Fail. I thought for sure this would turn out good but it definitely didn't. My husband loves coconut and thought this would be right up his ally. The cake did nothing but fall apart and doesn't even taste like fruit cake, just coconut. It was a little hard to mix so in a bowl so I had to use a roasting pan. I'm so sad this didn't turn out and I am too embarrassed to send it with my husband to work. Sorry but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
really like this recipe. Left out the coconut altogether though and it was fine without it. So it can be done however you like it. Yes it is rich, so a very small slice will do you. Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
this reminded EVERYONE of rice crispie treats, and not in a good way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I loved it! I actually needed 2 large mixing bowls to get all the ingredients mixed together! While I was making it I had decided that if no one ate it, I wasn't going through the trouble of making it again as it was kind of a pain to mix together. I had to fight to keep a couple of slices for myself! lol. I guess I'll be making this next year too! =) Also, I used dried fruit instead of candied fruit because I hate those candied pineapples that are dyed green! yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
yumm I loved this fruit cake more than my own child. Although it was scrumptious, it did look a little unappetizing. Dont be fooled by the look though, the taste is TOTALLY AWESOME! that's why I give this NEVER FAIL fruit cake 5 golden stars, well earned fruit cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Not sure what happened..this did not work for me. I think because I used sweetened coconut flakes--and probably shouldn't have. It fell apart--but I made into little cookies and put back in oven for a bit. Came out ok. tasted good--VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
hi.. i like this recipe very much but confuse on usage of the tube pan. why does the pan need to be grease when parchment paper is used and also i don´t think its possible to use parchment paper on tube pan. hope to hear from you about this as i really wanna make this cake as x´mas give away. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Thankyou his the exact recipe that I was looking for , I appreciat the time you took to get it to me again my thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This fruitcake is easy to make, but we probably will not give this one a go again. Coconut content very high, seems to attempt to replace some of the flour in this recipe, not necessarily for the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I'll have to change the name of this recipe to "Has Failed at Least Once Fruitcake"! For me, it was an expensive disaster that went straight into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States