Never Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe had more baking soda and/or baking powder per cup of flour than other similar recipes, and I was curious to see how that affected this cookie. I was so afraid it might turn out like a fluffy cookie, but found it did not. In fact, I really noticed no difference with the extra leavening. Other than reducing the salt to 1/2 tsp., I made the recipe as written, and found not much difference between other recipes I've tried. I chilled the dough for about an hour until semi-firm, dropped the dough with a medium size scoop, and flattened them just slightly before baking. Good, dependable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I always use this recipe but I use milk chocolate chips, they're less bitter. I also use whole wheat flour instead of white and it gives the cookies an entirely new taste, both versions are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I think I finally found the chocolate chip cookie recipe I have been trying to find for years. These turned out perfectly for me. I did cook them less than stated because I was looking for a chewy cookie and succeeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
These are crispy, gooey, rich and good! For crispness, don't underbake. They bake up nice and uniform. Actually, they remind me of Toll House slice and bakes! They take a little more time but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Dear Becky, We love you, errr, your cookies. Seriously, delicious recipe. As written, delicious, chewy and appeals to a wide demographic (our Japanese friends raved over them!); slightly modified (aka, 1/2 of the sugar)-still delicious, slightly crispy, and our friends still rave. We do let the dough sit in the fridge for 10-15 minutes before we drop them on a sheet. And out of the many times that we've made these, only once have we used the full amount of sugar. 1.5 cups is a lot of sugar. That + chocolate is WAY too much sugar! Very unhealthy! We make these cookies a bit too often . . . if you get my drift! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisDif858608

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I have been on the search for a fabulas Chocolate Chip cookie recipe and I found it. It comes out perfect every time. And the dough is yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
After reading the reviews, I decided to cut the salt back to a half teaspooon and just stick with the baking soda leaving out the baking powder. This reminds me a lot of the Tollhouse cookies I've been making since I was a small child. I got soft chocolate chip cookies--quite like bakeries make. This will be excellent for school lunches. I plan on bagging them up in snack bags by two's and freezing. They'll be thawed and ready to eat by lunchtime. Very good. I was pleased that I didn't have to chill the dough and these didn't spread a lot, which I was worried about. Next time, I'll add a half cup or so of pecans. NOTE: 350* for ten minutes, letting it rest for a minute on the hot pan, was just right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
Finally a chocolate chip cookie recipe that isn't too dry or too cakey - just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Fabulous, easy, and very yummy. Slight crispness on outside, but overall a chewy cookie. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
These were good "no fail " cookeis. Personally, I was looking for a chewey-er cookie, and these were quite fluffy. My family liked them a lot. These were good, but nothing special. Just good ol'fashioned cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States