Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe[e and found it dry. There were plenty of leftovers. I am just not a biscuit maker. Not the recipe maker's fault. The next day I put them into a warm pan on top of olive oil and warmed them with a lid to keep them from drying out. I TUCKED BUTTER BETWEEN THE BISCUIT HALVES.When warm I added maple syrup and left the lid off til warmed through and still moist. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
New to biscuit making and glad I chose this one to try....... Great turnout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i will deff make these again ! I made a double batch when company came over ! They where really good , light & perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MANNFAM
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These are the best biscuits I've ever had, and I've had a lot of biscuits! I always double the recipe because 1 recipe would just be a teaser for my family of 6. I also often replace 25 percent of the flour with whole wheat (which would ruin other biscuits by making them heavy) and they are still amazing! The butter really makes these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are the best, and I have been trying to find a no-fail recipe for years--I make these at least twice a week and they are just super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great recipe! I've been making these biscuits the night before for breakfast sausage biscuits. I just put a Jimmy Dean sausage patty in the biscuit, put it in the fridge, and warm it in the microwave in the morning. Yummy! Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Nice flavor, easy as any other biscuit. I froze my stick of butter and shredded it in instead of cutting it in. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was easy to make, followed the directions to a tee. However, I was not impressed with the quality. For me, they were very dense. The taste was good, but the texture left something to be desired. I would like to figure out how to make this biscuit lighter then it would be grand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly in Oklahoma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
this was a great recipe, the center was perfect. i added dried basil and cheddar cheese to the mix and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I just made these for dinner. This is the perfect biscuit recipe for me since I hardly ever buy buttermilk; when I do it just doesn't get used before it goes bad. I see some reviewers criticizing the mere 2 tsp of sugar in this recipe. Just so you know, these don't taste at all sweet. I think the sugar is a nice balance for the cream of tartar in this recipe, which gives the dough a bit of tang would normally come from buttermilk. I served them warm from the oven with a soup and my family all enjoyed them. Slightly crisp exterior with a tender flaky center. I did roll out the dough and then double it over as suggested, which I would do again. My only complaint would be that they didn't rise much at all, so next time I'll just roll them to the thickness I want them to be post-baking, which should do the trick. I'll end up with fewer than a dozen but our family of 4 doesn't need a dozen. Give this recipe a try - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States