Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
As a Chef I am very particular as to which recipes make it into my collection and this one has made the cut. These biscuits don't call for a large number of ingredients and are easily thrown together with the things I always have on hand. They come out lightly crisp on the outside and tender on the inside, perfect for all biscuit lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Although they are tad bit dry, this is the perfect and quick recipe for some delicious biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is the first time I've ever made biscuits. I was very apprehensive because I'd read a lot of how tricky they can be, but I made these twice, and both times they were delicious! The outside was crispy and flaky, and the inside soft and doughy. I don't have a pastry cutter, so I just grated my butter, stuck the grated butter in the freezer, and then tossed it with the dry ingredients by hand until the batter resembled coarse crumbs. (Note: I've made these biscuits twice. The first time I grated a stick of butter that was in the fridge and the process was rather easy, and not too messy since I held the stick by the wrapper. The second time I used a stick of already frozen butter, and I found that the grating process was more difficult, but the biscuits came out the same both ways). Also, I don't have a biscuit cutter, so I just used a glass, and I had no problems with my biscuits rising. I absolutely love this recipe, and will be using this from now on for any biscuits I made in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These biscuits are really, really good. I made them per the recipe exactly. Only thing different is that it took about 15 min to cook to golden brown. These just became my go to biscuit. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, it is keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These are amazing biscuits! I've always stuggled with biscuits that use shortening. Follow the recipe exactly as it's written and your biscuits will, literally, never fail. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My family absolutely loved these biscuits. I had to make two dozen! The first went really fast. I did not have cream of tartar and I only used 4 tablespoons of butter (1/4 cup). (Those were my only changes.) I used my whisk to cut in the butter (I have not been able to find a pastry cutter in the stores in the town we just moved to.) This recipe has replaced all others I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
wonderful, I did add a tiny bit more milk since my dough wouldn't come together (maybe 3 TBSP) but besdies that easy peasy biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
awesome! my children love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flower80
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were fantastic and fairly easy. They turned out tall and fluffy, but I only ended up with 8 which seemed like the perfect number.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exact. Instead of cutting the biscuits with a glass, I rolled into a 3/4 inch thick circle, then used a pizza cutter to cut the circle into eighths (they looked like scones, little triangles). I brushed them with butter before baking. I did not try them myself but the boys raved about them. My husband said they're one of the best biscuits he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States