Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very quick and easy. I did not have any milk so I used 1/2 cup evaporated milk and 1/4 cup cold water. They came out very light but just a little sweet. Maybe next time I will not put the 2 tsp. of sugar. Maybe it was the combination of sugar and evaporated milk. Either way they are and were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was the best biscuit recipe I have ever tried -- the name was very appropriate. I had no milk but some leftover heavy cream so I used that in place of milk and they were still light and flaky. Made these to serve with my crock pot chicken pot pie but now I almost hate to use them for the dish -- rather just eat them with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Marie Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My wife who is a Chef, was excited when she saw them and couldn't eat them fast enough. These were great, light and fluff. Made as directed except I brushed the tops with melted butter when I pulled them out of the oven. Excellent alone or with sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adiefender

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I selected this recipe only because it looked simple and I had all ingredients on hand. I just wanted something quick to make in the morning to use for a breakfast sandwich. They were easy and turned out great but the flavor was just a little too bland. I think they would be great for biscuits and gravy but as a stand alone biscuit I prefer more flakey and light consistency. Not bad....but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good biscuits. Flaky and buttery. Always a hit. It looks like a lot of work, but it really isn't. Especially once you've made them a couple of times and you know what you're doing it's quite fast. They may not be the prettiest, but they sure are among the tastiest. I like them for breakfast with a nice sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Followed exactly, except used buttermilk instead of regular milk and cut salt by half. Buttery, tender, melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Totally easy. Used the food processor to do everything, and stuck the diced butter in the freezer for about 10 min before adding, but otherwise changed none of the ingredients. I used a small Pyrex dish to cut circles since i have every shaped cutter but round. I was intimidated by cutting butter into flour after wasting an entire pound of butter trying to make a pie crust a few years back, but using the food processor and ice cold butter removed a lot of the opportunity for error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These are amazing! I added some garlic, pepper and a bit of rosemary, omitted the cream of tartar and upped the butter. So flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter. The biscuits were perfect! Everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have been searching and searching for a biscuit recipe that works for me. My mom made homemade biscuits often when we were little and I loved it. These remind me of hers. They worked great. They kept disappearing off the pan and I could hear my kids making yummy noises as they snuck them lol these are a huge hit in my house and so easy to make. The dough is very easy to work with. They came out puffy and flaky and delicious. Thank you for the awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States