Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
We have a variety of biscuit recipes on hand but this has quickly become our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Awesome recipe. I have been looking for a biscuit recipe that I liked and would be my go to recipe. This was the best! Very flaky and moist inside. Turned out perfectly and by far my favorite. I didn't add the sugar in though. I like them like biscuits and to taste like them. Delicious! I did everything by hand. Smooshed the cold butter into the flour mixture with my fingers and added the milk and mixed with my hands. Don't over work the dough. Just enough to get all the milk absorbed. I only kneaded it about 5-6 times and patted with my hands. I didnt use a rolling pin because you are over working the dough. Thanks for the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing unless I want to make them buttermilk in which I would use buttermilk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe at least 6 times now... a couple as directed, a couple with half the butter (better but still a little much for me), and a couple with a quarter of the butter. All times they've been great, but I just prefer the lighter butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I love these biscuits! I have made them many times and they are true to their name! (Unless you roll them too thin, then they become hockey pucks...lol. That was my second time making them and I didn't pay attention :/) I made these biscuits to go with a new sausage gravy recipe I found and my boyfriend says and I quote, "In all my 43 years of living and hundreds of plates of biscuits and gravy, THIS is the best plate EVER!" Now he is off to go brag about it at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlinlilkittie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very quick and easy. I did not have any milk so I used 1/2 cup evaporated milk and 1/4 cup cold water. They came out very light but just a little sweet. Maybe next time I will not put the 2 tsp. of sugar. Maybe it was the combination of sugar and evaporated milk. Either way they are and were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was the best biscuit recipe I have ever tried -- the name was very appropriate. I had no milk but some leftover heavy cream so I used that in place of milk and they were still light and flaky. Made these to serve with my crock pot chicken pot pie but now I almost hate to use them for the dish -- rather just eat them with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My wife who is a Chef, was excited when she saw them and couldn't eat them fast enough. These were great, light and fluff. Made as directed except I brushed the tops with melted butter when I pulled them out of the oven. Excellent alone or with sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adiefender

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I selected this recipe only because it looked simple and I had all ingredients on hand. I just wanted something quick to make in the morning to use for a breakfast sandwich. They were easy and turned out great but the flavor was just a little too bland. I think they would be great for biscuits and gravy but as a stand alone biscuit I prefer more flakey and light consistency. Not bad....but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good biscuits. Flaky and buttery. Always a hit. It looks like a lot of work, but it really isn't. Especially once you've made them a couple of times and you know what you're doing it's quite fast. They may not be the prettiest, but they sure are among the tastiest. I like them for breakfast with a nice sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Followed exactly, except used buttermilk instead of regular milk and cut salt by half. Buttery, tender, melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States