Never-Ever-Fail Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love meringue and have been making it all my life. When I read this I thought the idea of making the thickener and adding it sounded like a really interesting idea. Boy, was I ever disappointed. The texture of this was just way too fluffy. Meringue should have a crispiness to it that this was sorely lacking. I'll go back to my original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
haven't tried it yet got the cornstarch mixture cooling I am making a butterscotch pie homemade my great grandmothers recipe but every time I put meringue on it and bake it pulls away from the sides this to me looks like a great recipe will comment after it has finished
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Followed this recipe and topped a the banana cream pie I found on this site. Never maid meringue like this but it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izzymae30
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is the recipe you wished you had when yours failed. It is perfect. Fluffy and not too sweet. when I make banana cream pie for a crowd, I make it rectangle. More pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Sorry did not work for me no stiff enough. Don't know what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This tasted very good but I did not care for the texture of it at all. It is a much heavier meringue than most I have made. It sealed very nicely and did not have the weeping but would try another one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
At altitudes above 2500 feet whip the whites to soft peaks, not stiff peaks. But above 10,000 feet you have to prepare it like 7 minute icing cooking over a double boiler and whipping to stiff peaks. Putting the stabilizing gel into the whites when foamy does better at higher altitudes rather than putting it in at the end after the peaks are stiff. Eggs separate best when cold but the whites MUST be at room temp to whip properly. Cold egg whites won't stiffen properly as they cannot get enough air cells whipped into them when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I am not sure why people like this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and my meringue was perfect right up until I put the cornstarch mixture in it and then it became all limp and would not beat to stiff peaks. I think I will just stick to the proven meringue in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've never ever attempted to make meringue. I just knew I would fail at it. But tried this recipe and my pie came out perfect! Big tall, fluffy, beautiful and tastes lovely! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wow! I have never made a meringue pie that DIDN'T weep - until NOW! It's like magic! On the downside, though, this meringue isn't as tasty as one made without the cornstarch. I will definitely make it again, but plan on trying half as much cornstarch mixture and maybe a couple extra tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lordsburg, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hatch, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States