Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
If I could give this 1000 stars, I would!!! This recipe is so fantastic. I made it differently, though... I didn't make mine in the oven, I made mine in the crock pot (a double batch fits well in a 3-quart cooker, if you have an army to feed! lol!) basically just mixing everything together (softening the cream of mushroom soup just for about 30 seconds in the micro to make it easier to stir.) I cooked it on low for about 3 hours, stirred it, and let simmer until I was ready for it. Then, right before serving, I stirred some of the FF Onions in with the beans, then sprinkled some on the top as well. I had a few people at Thanksgiving with an aversion to not only green bean casserole but to mushrooms as well, but they tried it and LOVED IT!!! I guess you could leave out the mushrooms if you have a lot of protesters! :) I WILL be making this again! I will try to add a bit more cheese next time, I like stuff very cheesy! Oh, I also used the "Real Bacon Bits" instead of frying up bacon and crumbling it myself (I'm a lazy cook, I look for shortcuts where I can, heh heh) and it tasted just wonderful! Turkey bacon might be good, too!!! Play around with it, have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
The original recipe called for a jar of Kraft Bacon cheese spread. It comes in a small, 5 oz. glass jar (with a metal pry-off lid). It also comes in other flavors. Old English is the one I use when I can't find the Bacon (as a last resort Velveeta-type)and add 1 to 2 T. finely minced cooked bacon. Obviously, the bigger the chop, the less bacon there will be in 1 T. This recipe doubles or triples nicely. I have also doubled the amount of green beans without changing the other ingredients and this works well too in a pinch. Hope this helps ~Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I chose to do this in a crockpot over Thanksgiving, do to the oven being overused as it was. I doubled the recipe and used the kraft old english substitute, frozen greenbeans and no extra mushrooms (also sub cream of celery). I let cook about 4 hours on low. If doing in a crockpot, in the future i would recommend turning off to let the sauce set up (was a little runny.) Also the cheese added a little too much salt, so i just added pepper. I like this recipe and will use again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a nice change from the usual green bean cassarole. I used frozen greenbeans like others have suggested and I really liked them better than the canned ones. I also used some fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones. My only dissappointment is that it was a little too cheezy for my tastes. I think I would prefer about half the amount of cheeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is my go to recipe for all pitch-ins and family functions. I omit the bacon pieces to make it vegetarian. As seen in the italics at the bottom, the velveeta is a substitution and not in the original recipe. I use kraft old english cheese spread. It is in a little glass container that looks like a juice glass almost. I've tried to make this in a crockpot, but it doesn't get the same flavor. I've found that baking it as normal (without adding the french onions) and then transferring it over to a crockpot to keep warm works okay. I do bake the french onions separately to get them crispy, but I serve them in a dish on the side. I do not put them in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Yum! This was my first Thanksgiving as hostess, and this recipe definitely helped me through it! I put it together the nigt before (all but the fried onions) and kept it in the fridge to make things easier the day of the big meal. I used Kraft Old English Cheese for the processed cheese, made my own real bacon (instead of bacon bits), and used fresh baby portabella mushrooms (instead of canned). All of the leftovers are gone and I'm ready to make this again! This recipe will be a staple for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was not only delicious, but versatile! We enjoyed the casserole on Christmas, and then I added some more veggies, chicken, velveeta, french fried onions, and cream of chicken soup together to the leftovers, topped it with a pie crust and had the BEST POT PIE ever. This was a HUGE hit on Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I have been using this recipe since Nov of 2005, and I still think it is the best green bean casserole recipe. All of my friends and family now use this recipe as well. There are a couple of changes that I make. I use cheese whiz instead of the block processed cheese, and I add either worcestershire sauce or soy sauce for added flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was pretty good! I loved the addition of the mushrooms and bacon, but wasn't crazy about the velveeta cheese that I used - I would probably try another cheese the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
At first the thought of putting cheese in a green bean casserole didn't sound appealing but, it is awesome! It is easy to make and at Thanksgiving it was the first dish that was gone. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States