Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
THE BEST!!! Absolutely wonderful. I made it the first time using the full amount of wine that the recipe called for and found it a bit strong but still had a to die for taste. My fiance was hooked. He asked me to make it 3 more times in a 2 week period! I found if you cut the wine in 1/2 it is perfect. So easy and just so good. Serve with some crusty sourdough and eat in front of the fire ... Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I love this recipe! I have made it for my family several times and my in-laws request it over and over. They love it. I double the amount of crab and add Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this bisque for the first course of a formal sit down dinner. Everyone loved it, & people asked for the recipe. I used approx. 2lbs of fresh lump crabmeat instead of canned & also ran the hand/food processor through it. I would use a low sodium soup though, it does have that condensed/sodium soup taste. But, overall very good & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This soup was very good, but I did listen to others about the wine. I added a 1/2 cup while the soup ingredients were warming and then not quite another 1/2 cup at the end when the directions said to add the wine. I cup of wine was plenty! I also sauteed some shallots first and then started the rest of the directions. Our only complaint was that it was too thin. Will probably use a little less milk next time, but there will certainly be a next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Added 1/2 cup of wine along with the milk/cream and let that cook down a bit. Then added the other 1/2 cup of wine with the crab meat. It was perfect. This is a must keep in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Great soup, I added 3/4 tsp old bay seasoning as suggested and 2 Tsp of tomatoe paste for a pink color for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I added extra crabmeat, but used the same amount of wine in the recipie. I thought it needed less wine. Next time, I'll use half. This is a nice easy soup when you don't have time to make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Very nice, my family enjoyed it. The only change I'd make is: I only added 1 cup of wine, and I had to let it cook down a bit, as the aroma nearly knocked me and my fiance over. Other than that, it was a wonderful New Year's day dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Adding a little Zatarain's Creole Seasoning made it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! Pleasantly surprised with this one! I will admit I was a little nervous because I was using lump crab meat and fresh shrimp but needed something very quick and easy so I decided to give it a try. My entire family is sooo happy I did! I added a couple of things to this to make it go a little further (needed to feed 7) and it really worked out great. I added a can of low sodium cream of potato soup, and a 1/2 pound shrimp (just added the shrimp with the crab and followed directions.) To compensate for the extra soup, I added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream (used in place of light cream). I also followed other reviews and backed down on the wine. I used approx. 3/4 cup and it was perfect for us. Sprinkled a little Old Bay Seasoning and green onions right before serving and everyone raved & asked for seconds. This will be a regular here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States