Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I made this for Valentine's Day for my husband. I did cut down on the wine like other's suggested. We both liked it, but it just wasn't WOW good. Good enough, but I wouldn't make it to entertain with. It might be better with scallops or lobster, I used canned crab, maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Fabulous, homemade-tasting soup!! My husband and all attendees of our super bowl party loved it! Per the other reviews, I did half the amount of wine. Thanks so much for sharing the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Everything tasted fine until I added the wine. I only added less than 1 cup but it still was too strong...one of my guests took one sip and didn't want any more. I had to force myself to finish my half bowl. This recipe should be changed to add only 1/2 cup of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I made this bisque using canned crabmeat, salad shrimp, and some canned clams. I also used half the amount of wine in the recipe. WOW!! It is a fabulous rich-tasting soup, like something from a fine seafood restaurant but so easy!! Tastes even better the nex day. Everyone loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Decent for a quick soup with a homemade taste. Rather salty, though, even after taking the advice of other reviewers and using low-sodium soups. I tried it as written and also with one can of a cream-based soup (usually cream of celery, just a personal preference) and a can of tomato soup. I might try it with a little tomato sauce rather than soup next time, to thin it out a bit -- a bisque should be creamy, as this is, but not quite as thick as mine came out. An interesting variation: use one small can each of crabmeat, clams, and baby (salad) shrimp for a seafood combination. If you're set on a crab soup, don't do it, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful dish and it is just so easy to prepare. The ingrediants are easily obtainable too even in this part of asia. My boyfriend loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Very nice, my family enjoyed it. The only change I'd make is: I only added 1 cup of wine, and I had to let it cook down a bit, as the aroma nearly knocked me and my fiance over. Other than that, it was a wonderful New Year's day dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This recipe is fantastic! I could not believe what a great tasting bisque this turned out to be because it was sooooo easy to make! The only thing I did a little differently, was to only put in 1 cup of wine and I did that only a couple minutes before serving. I will use this recipe very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Added 1/2 cup of wine along with the milk/cream and let that cook down a bit. Then added the other 1/2 cup of wine with the crab meat. It was perfect. This is a must keep in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I love this recipe! I have made it for my family several times and my in-laws request it over and over. They love it. I double the amount of crab and add Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States