Nell's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I know... I hate it when people tweek recipes... what's the point... however I loved this recipe base... it is perfect and everyone always asks for the recipes at parties. I do not care for celery... so I omitted that. Corn would probably be good in it... but I am used to it the old fashioned way... so I skipped the corn. I do not care for onion pieces in salads so i substituted onion powder like I always do. I don't measure out the paprika, I just sprinkle across the top after it's made to give it color and flavor. Awesome recipe, it's the only macaroni salad recipe ever use. This does make tons, just the right size for a party, otherwise cut recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
"This is the best macaroni salad I've ever tasted." I heard this statement from several people at my husband's BBQ Birthday Party. My father, a macaroni salad connoisseur, could not get enough of it. Yes, the corn is the key, but also the pickle juice really gives it a nice kick. I'd recommend this recipe for any casual party or get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
We really liked this salad. I had to make a few adjustments due to what I had on hand...no celery, no corn, red instead of green onions, and added some celery seed. We'll try it again according to Nell's formula. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this for my husband and his work potluck yesterday. It got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was to add a few sweet pickles, chopped up into it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREATBRITUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Reviewer asking reference for "creamy salad dressing" - the original post of this recipe named brand "Miracle Whip" as the creamy salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is our most favorite macaroni salad recipe ever. Every time I asked my husband what kind of salad he wanted he always requested this one. The recipe calls for pickle juice, I actually cut up a few pickles and added them to give it an extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Well, call me Clueless! I assumed "creamy salad dressing" meant bottled salad dressing (*blush*), so I used Hidden Valley Ranch & it was delicious! Also used dill pickle juice (hubby hates sweet) and chopped a few pickles to add as well. Really good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is amazing! I switched the corn for black olives and used thousand island dressing. I didn't have any green onions but I will add them next time. A potluck hit for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I know this recipe calls for sweet pickle juice, but I also added some sweet relish because I love it. I thought it was sort of weird to use mayo with Miricle Whip (creamy salad dressing), but they both do have distinctive flavors. Just never would have thought to mix them. I also added some black forest ham chopped up which gave a really nice flavor. Also, honey baked ham works good too. I love corn, but I really just didn't want it in my mac salad. I added a couple of boiled eggs instead. I used smoky paprika which imparted a really nice flavor to me. Now that I think about it, I basically made this the way I make my potato salad except it has mustard in it. Make sure to salt your water when cooking your pasta because you only really get the one chance to get the salt into the pasta. It has a better flavor than adding salt on top of the cooked noodles to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States