Nell's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
"This is the best macaroni salad I've ever tasted." I heard this statement from several people at my husband's BBQ Birthday Party. My father, a macaroni salad connoisseur, could not get enough of it. Yes, the corn is the key, but also the pickle juice really gives it a nice kick. I'd recommend this recipe for any casual party or get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
This was ok, but i didn't think it was great. Although my two year old really liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I know... I hate it when people tweek recipes... what's the point... however I loved this recipe base... it is perfect and everyone always asks for the recipes at parties. I do not care for celery... so I omitted that. Corn would probably be good in it... but I am used to it the old fashioned way... so I skipped the corn. I do not care for onion pieces in salads so i substituted onion powder like I always do. I don't measure out the paprika, I just sprinkle across the top after it's made to give it color and flavor. Awesome recipe, it's the only macaroni salad recipe ever use. This does make tons, just the right size for a party, otherwise cut recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
We really liked this salad. I had to make a few adjustments due to what I had on hand...no celery, no corn, red instead of green onions, and added some celery seed. We'll try it again according to Nell's formula. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by SLMStacy
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe! When I made it, I used a tri-colored, multi-shape pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this for my husband and his work potluck yesterday. It got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was to add a few sweet pickles, chopped up into it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREATBRITUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Refreshing! Had to make some minor adjustments to use what I had on hand. Only 2 eggs (I think more would be better), celery seed (no celery), onions and chives (no green onion), red wine vinegar (no pickle juice). Doh, forgot the paprika! But it still got a great response, despite the tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
It was just a macaroni salad - don't see what was extraordinary about it. The corn may "be the key" but I hardly noticed it being there. Made as is, except I used regular onion since I didn't have green onions, and only had dill pickles so used that juice (which didn't do anything for tanging it up). NOTE: I made this again and am upping it to a 4. I guess I thought better of it second time around. I didn't note that I wasn't sure what "creamy salad dressing" was, and the first time I used Marzetti's and second time Miracle Whip, and I had the green onion this time. I really love Marzetti's, so I'm going to assume I was just more in the mood for this this time. (Though I still didn't notice the corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This recipe was good but I wasn't sure what kind of creamy salad dressing she used in her recipe. Does anyone know or have a suggestion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States