Nell's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is amazing! I switched the corn for black olives and used thousand island dressing. I didn't have any green onions but I will add them next time. A potluck hit for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I know this recipe calls for sweet pickle juice, but I also added some sweet relish because I love it. I thought it was sort of weird to use mayo with Miricle Whip (creamy salad dressing), but they both do have distinctive flavors. Just never would have thought to mix them. I also added some black forest ham chopped up which gave a really nice flavor. Also, honey baked ham works good too. I love corn, but I really just didn't want it in my mac salad. I added a couple of boiled eggs instead. I used smoky paprika which imparted a really nice flavor to me. Now that I think about it, I basically made this the way I make my potato salad except it has mustard in it. Make sure to salt your water when cooking your pasta because you only really get the one chance to get the salt into the pasta. It has a better flavor than adding salt on top of the cooked noodles to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Well, call me Clueless! I assumed "creamy salad dressing" meant bottled salad dressing (*blush*), so I used Hidden Valley Ranch & it was delicious! Also used dill pickle juice (hubby hates sweet) and chopped a few pickles to add as well. Really good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This recipe is clear where to add the creamy dressing. I'm assuming in with the mayo, but it should be edited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is our most favorite macaroni salad recipe ever. Every time I asked my husband what kind of salad he wanted he always requested this one. The recipe calls for pickle juice, I actually cut up a few pickles and added them to give it an extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Reviewer asking reference for "creamy salad dressing" - the original post of this recipe named brand "Miracle Whip" as the creamy salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This recipe was good but I wasn't sure what kind of creamy salad dressing she used in her recipe. Does anyone know or have a suggestion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
It was just a macaroni salad - don't see what was extraordinary about it. The corn may "be the key" but I hardly noticed it being there. Made as is, except I used regular onion since I didn't have green onions, and only had dill pickles so used that juice (which didn't do anything for tanging it up). NOTE: I made this again and am upping it to a 4. I guess I thought better of it second time around. I didn't note that I wasn't sure what "creamy salad dressing" was, and the first time I used Marzetti's and second time Miracle Whip, and I had the green onion this time. I really love Marzetti's, so I'm going to assume I was just more in the mood for this this time. (Though I still didn't notice the corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Refreshing! Had to make some minor adjustments to use what I had on hand. Only 2 eggs (I think more would be better), celery seed (no celery), onions and chives (no green onion), red wine vinegar (no pickle juice). Doh, forgot the paprika! But it still got a great response, despite the tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States