Nell's Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
We make this salad often. It's a nice change. We like it with toasted sunflower kernels. To make prep eaiser we use the bagged cole slaw mix and a light zesty italian bottled dressing. Throw some grilled chicken and it's a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Great, simple version of this salad. I used 1/4 c sesame oil and 1/4 c soy sauce in place of the olive oil and added some garlic powder as well as shredded carrots. I skipped the noodles and seasoning mix altogether and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This recipe is a great starting point for this salad. I don't like the flavor or texture of the plain ramen, so I toasted those along with the almonds. The dressing seemed to be lacking something, so I added some fresh ground black pepper and that fixed it right up. I cut this recipe in half and used a small bag of coleslaw mix. It needed a little more sugar for my tastes so I gave it a dab more. This recipe uses the little seasoning packet too and that was a bonus as I have several of those from similar salads that didn't. I ate this right away as I like the crunchy bits to stay crunchy. Great little dish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is a terrific version of this kind of salad. I think in the future though I'll switch out 1 TB of oil for another TB of vinegar. Just personal preference on my part. Thanks for sharing, I'll use this one often this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We love this salad! I added grilled chicken to make it a meal. Also subbed a tsp of the oil for sesame oil and added a few drops of soy sauce to give it more of an asian flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very nice salad. I like the crunch the almonds and noodles provide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I had had a version of this salad several times and wanted to make it myself. After scouring several recipes I chose this one. It was absolutely great! So easy and delicious! A great dish to bring to pass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe even for people who think they dont like cabbage. I make this for barbeques all the time and even for thanksgiving dinner once. I usually use nappa cabbage and typically red wine vinegar and canola oil in my dressing. Its very important to dress the salad at the last minute to keep everything crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Amazing. I had no idea this dish would turn out the way it did. What a great idea, and so simple to prepare. You can make this dish ahead of time, just save the noodles, and add right before serving so they are extra crunchy. The rest of the ingredients you can mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great salad! The dressing is light and I love the crunch of the almonds. My husband wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States