Nell's Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love this recipe. I am lazy...obviously, so I used the preshredded mix of coleslaw. I would suggest pouring the dressing in a little at a time, you might not need all of it. This is my favorite substitute for coleslaw, being a southern lady I go to lots of BBQs and I cook fried chicken all the time, but I hate coleslaw, so this is a great alternative. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We loved it! Such a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is the same recipe my family has used for years. I love it. I do sometimes omit the noodles and add them when serving. Otherwise the noodles will get soggy if it is not all eaten right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
While this salad does taste good, some people are calling it healthy. The salad has a lot of oil (although at least it is olive oil) and ramen noodles are FRIED noodles and quite high in fat! So it's good, but don't think it can be considered "healthy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This salad is great! I made it when girlfriends were coming down from up north to visit! Great as a side at any potluck or get together. I made no changes except I only had one chicken ramen and one beef so I used one chicken ramen packet and a half of a boullion cube! Not a big difference there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I to love this recipe...I use Splenda in place of the sugar and feel I'm getting loads of good stuff without the sugar/calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yum!! I had to make something light today, as it is very hot here and I did not want to turn on the oven. I needed something to go with some cold sandwiches. This is absolutely delicious!! I added some ginger to the dressing, but it would have still been delicious without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This salad is really simple, and sooo good. I added shredded carrot to it for an exrta veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My family has been making this salad for years. Only we always use a couple cups of diced chicken. We also use the rice wine vinegar. For those who claim to not like a huge amount of raman noodle crunch...the solution is simply to make this up the night before. This dish only gets better the longer it sits and soaks up all the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I know people rave about this but I just didn't like the crunchy, uncooked ramen noodles. However, this was easy and a nice choice for a very warm day's dinner. Don't know if I'll make again but it wasn't terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States