Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I recently made this recipe after printing it out from the Neiman Marcus website, and it says to bake the cookies in a 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes (not at 375 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes). These cookies stayed very moist and chewy much longer than any other chocolate chip cookies I've made, and I think the reason is that they were baked at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Good, but this is not the real recipe for the Neiman Marcus cookies. You may actually find it in this site under "Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies", there's a cookie to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I'm sure it's a good cookie recipe, but it's NOT the $250 recipe of urban legend. I received a copy of that more than 15 years ago, and it involved many other ingredients, including grated chocolate and, I believe, oatmeal. I'm still looking for a copy of the "scam" recipe that really did make an amazing cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The $250 story is TRUE! My aunt was the one who was charged for it. However, the true cookie recipe is a bit different. She bought two salads, a scarf, and asked to buy the recipe. The waitress said she could if she paid "two fifty". My aunt assumed it meant $2.50. She called the account office at Neiman Marcus after receiving the bill and they refused to refund her. So, she told them that she was going to have $250 dollars worth of fun with the recipe. She printed it in our family's cookbook, and gave the recipe out to everyone she could think of and told them to give it out to others. So, there you have it. I assure you that the story is true, but like I said...the real recipe is slightly different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I also printed the "Original" recipe from the Neiman Marcus website when they had it there briefly and this one IS it! It's a delicious, wonderful cookie. It's on the cakie side rather than raw, flat side. Mine came out fat but great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These are the best cookies ever. If you bake them at the 8 minutes they are chewy. They have a great balance of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Like another reviewer, I followed the 300 degree oven - after comparing this recipe with the NM website. Gorgeous cookies - not too thick or too thin. Photogenic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
As a Neiman Marcus employee I can vouch that although this is not the recipe you get in the "Neiman Marcus $250 Cookie Recipe" spam email this one is the real deal. These cookies are really good if you like the "super sweet & not homemade" tasting cookies you buy from the grocery store. They aren't my favorite, but I still eat them whenever we have them at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Excellent cookie. The espresso makes it. I chopped up some of my semi sweet choc chips before incorporating and baked at 310 for about 16 minutes. They turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I doubled this recipe making about 5 dozen cookies. I took all the cookies to Culinary School and everyone ate them up! Excellent as is with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States