Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This cake has been used by my family since before I can remember, the only difference is that we only use 2 cups of sugar or 1 box. This is the reason why everyone thought it was too sweet. And our recipe calls for only 1 egg in the cream cheese part, but I tried it with 2 and it tasted the same but was much easier to spread on the 1st layer. This is a family tradition during Thanksgiving and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I used LEMON CAKE MIX - added chopped PECANS to the cake mixture, and even added some to the top of the cake mixture (we like pecans). I then put a thin layer of sweetened COCONUT on top of the chopped pecans, then the cream cheese layer. To the cream cheese mixture I used TWO PKGS of cream cheese (to make it more cream cheesey and less sweet) less powder sugar probably 2 1/2 cups (since the coconut was sweet) AND I added ALMOND extract (2 TBLBS) to the cream cheese mixture. Let me tell you - it was GOOD !!!!! My daughter (who mostly likes chocolate) LOVED IT!!!! Will DEFINITELY MAKE THIS ONE AGAIN! THANK YOU !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed "Kerri's" directions and it came out wonderful. (Worthy of it's own recipe with her changes.) I cut this into squares and took it to a UFC Fight Night gathering with a bunch of friends and they loved it - just the right amount of sweet and the coconut and nuts give it a nice boost! I pressed the "crust" into the pan by covering it in waxed paper. It was really easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Photo by COOKOFDEATH
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 cups of powdered sugar. Too sweet for me. So the second time I used 1 cup. Perfect. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract to the cream cheese and I put about a half cup of seedless raspberry jam into a sandwich bag. I cut the corner of the bag, piped the jam on top, swirled with a knife along the top to make it pretty. That was fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFDEATH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I work in a hair salon and a client of ours made this and brought it in. Since then I've made it three times. And that was only two months ago. It is so good! Its wonderful to take to potluck dinners. It does not need any icing and its perfect with a cup of coffee. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Great cake/bar. I would definately make this again. It tastes like a great yellow cake covered in cheesecake. It was really easy also. You can't go wrong on something easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I first had this cake at a shower. Everyone was wanting the recipe. I have taken this to many events and it has been a BIG hit. I add chopped pecans with the cake mix and then spread it in the pan. A nice crunchy surprise in the crust!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Wowza! I made this cake yesterday afternoon. It is SWEET. Very very sweet. It is good, but tooooooo much sugar! If you have a sweet tooth this is your cake. WOW. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This cake came out more like cookie bars and was horribly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I doubled the recipe and still didn't have enough cake...people couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States