Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
What a great recipe! My family loved it! I took some tips from other reviewers and only used 2 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar, but when I greased my baking dish I also dusted with sugar. I had to let my cake cook the whole 35 minutes, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
After reading all of the reviews stating that it's best to use only 2 cups of sugar, that's what I did. I wish I would have tried the recipe as it was originally posted (with 4 cups), as I didn't think the cake was sweet enough. Aside from that, I thought the cakey part was little dry, but overall it was a good recipe. I was a little disappointed since the majority of reviews were so good. I made this to take to Sunday School this morning, and it's not something I'm really proud to take. I may make it again, but only to make it the way it was originally posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made it with a lemon cake mix and 2 pkgs of cream cheese. Rich but not great. Much better the next day. Try other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made this cake for the first time to bring to an office for breakfast. It was a total hit! This is easy to make and turns out great! I cut the powdered sugar to 2 cups and it was perfectly sweet. As someone else said, it goes great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very yummo! I took the advice of others and only used 2 1/4 cup sugar. It was plenty sweet. I also added a little almond extract. It would probably be good with lemon extract too! Thanks for the great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The bottom cake portion was really terrific, but the frosting came out a little too runny for my taste. My guests devoured it, though, and some even had seconds! Next time I'll add a little lemon to give it a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed "Kerri's" directions and it came out wonderful. (Worthy of it's own recipe with her changes.) I cut this into squares and took it to a UFC Fight Night gathering with a bunch of friends and they loved it - just the right amount of sweet and the coconut and nuts give it a nice boost! I pressed the "crust" into the pan by covering it in waxed paper. It was really easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I did cut back on the sugar per reviewers' comments, but still found it to be too sweet. Smelled wonderful while cooking, and was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
First of all, do not even think about icing this "cake". It is more of a bar, and sweet enough to stand on it's own. I used about 12 ounces of cream cheese and 2 cups of sifted powdered sugar and it was delicious. My husband really liked it. Great with black coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was OK, but I wish I had taken it out of the oven a bit sooner than 35 minutes. The crust was pretty dry and I was expecting the top to be more dense and cheesecake like, but it was kind of like a stiff custard. I did use less powdered sugar (around 2.5 cups) and extra cream cheese, so I thought it would be like cheesecake but I've realized that there's no shortcuts for the real thing. Overall, this is alright to have in the fridge to satisfy a sweet tooth but not what I'd serve to anyone else. I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 because I changed the quantities, but I don't imagine it improving that much with more sugar and less cream cheese as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States