Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was nothing special, not even good. We did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I had to cut the sugar a little because this was too sweet but my family loved it and it is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
It didn't turn-out the way I would hoped it had, and other reviews said that this was disappointing compared to the real thing. That is to be expected because it isn't the actual recipe, but I don't even think it compared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My husband and kids absolutely loved these rich and chewy bars, and they couldn't be easier to prepare! Don't be afraid to try different flavors of cake mix. I only had chocolate cake mix on hand, and it turned out great. I made a couple of other changes. I only used 1 egg in the cake layer and I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese layer. I reduced the confectioner's sugar to 3 cups and will probably use even less next time. I love sweets and rarely complain of anything bing overly sweet, but the top layer tasted like pure powdered sugar to me. These treats are known as "gooey bars" around my house. I'l definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Delicious but just too sweet. Next time I will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This cake was good, but not great. I have usually had great results with recipes from this site rated as highly as this one is, but that was not necessarily the case with this one. The cake was good, but it did not live up to some of the glowing reviews. It tasted a lot like a box yellow cake mix. Which is always enjoyable, but not as great as some described this cake to be. Not sure that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I am embarrassed to say that my husband and I ate this entire 9x13 cake in two days. Oh my, this was heavenly. My husband loves cheesecake and I am not a big fan, so this is a great compromise. I am curious how it this recipe got it's name. I bought a Kroger off brand of cream cheese and an almost identical recipe is on the side of the box and they call it Gooey Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I am reluctant to ever write anything negative unless it is strongly indicated. I usually find such successful choices on this site by reading the reviews. In this case I was duped. This is a very lackluster dish regardless if you like or dislike "sweet" as some have indicated. That's certainly a preference that can by adjusted for - but the end result tastes like a dry, cake-box 'cakey' crust with an acceptable cream cheese topping. I can't imagine how so many people enjoyed it - but obviously by the ratings they did. If you prefer even your 'quickie' recipes to taste like something more grand, this is NOT the recipe for you. Will not make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDURFEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I revised my recipe by using lemon cake mix and sprinkling sweetened coconut between the cake and icing layer. I also reduced sugar to 2 cups for the icing and it was wonderful!! Very easy to make and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is so good!! And very easy to make. Goes well with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States