Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I used this recipe for my company's x'mas present this year so I used the original 14 servings recipe for six 1 lb loaf pan. I made many batches. the first one I followed the recipe to the T, and found it way too sweet for my taste. So I reduced the sugar from 4 cups to 1-1/4 cup and it came out really tasty. The difference is that with 4 cups of sugar, the top layer will glace and harden on top, whereas with 1-1/4 cup, it just looks like a normal cake. So I spinkled a little pit of powder sugar on top to dress it up a little bit. Everyone loved it. Many of them ate the whole loaf pan(2 and 1/4 servings) the day that I handed it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Hello... I rated this as a five becauce you can do so many other recipes. I added melted chocolate chips next time going to add peaches and pecans to the recipe. thank you for sharing........Happy Holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cake was a hit with my family. It's almost gone so I don't think I'll find out if it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Oh please.....delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe was very easy and the family loved them. They are very sweet and went fast. I will make these again after I lose the weight i gained pigging out on this deliciouse treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKOFDEATH
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 cups of powdered sugar. Too sweet for me. So the second time I used 1 cup. Perfect. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract to the cream cheese and I put about a half cup of seedless raspberry jam into a sandwich bag. I cut the corner of the bag, piped the jam on top, swirled with a knife along the top to make it pretty. That was fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFDEATH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These were really good. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I felt like it was a little too rich for me. I took this to a dinner at a friend's house and everyone there loved it! I did try the suggestion of adding nuts to the cake layer. It was good, but I think it would be just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made this last night and took it to our Sat. night party where a type of chocolate is the normal request. Even the dieters had seconds - AND thirds! I did double the cream cheese, used 1 box of sugar and added pecans like the other suggestions! This morning I've gotten requests! A hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
The flavor of the cake is good--yes, very sweet, but good. Mine didn't bake all the way through--I used a glass baking dish, and the dish may be slightly smaller than a typical 9x13, but it looked done on top (nice and brown), but when I cut it after it was cool, it was very liquidy. Maybe it will be better chiled. If I make this again, I will bake it lower and slower--or in a different dish. I did add vanilla to the cream cheese layer, which i think gives a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This cake is too dense for me. It should be called a bar instead. It didn't taste much different from the yellow cake mix except denser. Very dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States