Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
the cream cheese filling is incredibly sweet, so sweet infact that my family could not eat it, and all the sugar overpowered the cream cheese flavor. I have "tweaked"this recipe some and found that if you use 12 ounces of cream cheese, and one cup of confectioners sugar (and the eggs as previously instructed) and about 2 tbsp. milk to make it a little thinner it tastes more like cream cheese filling and less like pure sugar. on a related note, when you mix the cake/crust, if you pile the sticky mess together, and dust with powdered sugar it turns into a very soft dough that is easily handled, dont work the dough, just dust lightly and pat gently and it will become a nice dough ball, this makes it easier to push into the pan as opposed to trying to spread the gooey mess. I hope these tips help, other than that, this is an incredible dessert, and easily "tweeked" to your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarissa parkhurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
GREAT recipe--I've made a couple of batches in the last couple of weeks and the emptiness of my containers speak volumes! I opted to add chocolate chips to the cake layer and I did only use one box of confectioners sugar. I cut this into squares after it cooled and served it at a couple of gatherings...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was very good! I used about 2 1/2 cups sugar since other reviews said it had been a bit too sweet. I don't think the cake was any worse because of this change! I think next time I will use 2 packages of cream cheese though for more of a cheese cakey taste and less sugary taste. May also layer coconut between the cake mix & the topping and then add some chocolate chips on the very top. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I reduced the powdered sugar to 3 cups but it was still too sweet and didn't have enough cream cheese flavor. It was better the next day but not enough to warrant making a second time without major overhaul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
very very good! Can't go wrong with this one =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~PAMELA~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This cake was very easy to make and okay overall. I took others suggestions and added some almond extract (a little over a tsp) into the cream cheese mixture, and thought the essence was too overpowering...not going to do that in the future. I only used 1 1/2 cups sugar and that was fine. I might tweak this recipe next time. I guess I'm a bigger fan of moist cakes. Not bad though. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Seriously, this was fantastic! We teachers make lunch once a week and I brought this cake.....I have never heard such a response from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
It was good...not spectacular but good. I oly used 2c. powdered sugar and it was plenty sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Followed other reviews and used 1 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar, 1 tsp almond extract and raspberry jam swirl on top. It was demolished at work and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great recipe. I cut the sugar in half after reading the reviews. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States