Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Just finish baking taking to BBQ tonite, will rate when we cut into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I half the powdered sugar and swirl fruit preserved in with the cream cheese portion. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I only read all the comments after putting the cake in the oven, then worried thinking would be too sweet. I don't find it so sweet, seems as though the cake part cuts the sweetness down. Only thing I did do was add chopped pecans between the cake and the cream cheese mixture. It doesn't seem to cut cleanly though, will crumble, but that too may be because it's still warm. It's an easy, quick recipe that will be handy when company is going to drop by and I want to cook something up fast for their coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
You dont really need so much sugar. My mother in law was raving about this NM cake some lady at her job brought in. She called and asked me to make one...I went to my go to place for recipes...and once again you guys didn't let me down. I have made it twice. The first time I thought it was too gooey but she said it was perfect. The second time I let the cake bake first until it was almost done and then added the frosting let it bake the remainder of the time and it was more like a cake to me. I also cut out some of the sugar in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I used the base of this recipe, but used two 8 ounce packages of cream cheese, the almond flavoring, pecans, and a slight dust of coconut as suggested by Kerri. Also, I reduced the powdered sugar to just two cups. The cake was a HIT! I think I'll try the lemon cake mix for a summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great Recipe! Easy. I took some of the other suggestions: added crushed pecans to the top and just used 3 cups of confectioners sugar. Even my picky husband ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this for the 1st time but changed up a little I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the 1st mixture and used butter cake mix, then sprinkled coconut and pecan pieces on top. Then mixed up the second mixture and poured it on and sprinkles coconut and pecan pieces on that. It was sooo Good!!!!! I took it to an office holiday party and it was a Hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
A great "pantry" recipe and so easy, too All the ingredients you can keep on hand and make it when unexpected company is about to drop in for a visit. It's looks like a coffee cake but my-oh-my that first bite is a delicious surprise! Everyone raves about it and seem to think it's a very complex and difficult cake to make - quite the opposite, it's very easy to put together. The recipe goes by many names. My Mom gave me this recipe and I've made it for 25 years much to the delight of family and friends. Try this recipe, you will be glad you did! You'll please your guests as well as yourself! NOTE: Cream cheese might not be a staple for all of you, but it does keep for a good while, unopened, in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I just made this and had some problems. I cut back the power sugar to two cups and used the 8oz. cream cheese and two eggs. The cream cheese mixture is very liquid. I still tried to bake as instructed and the mixture in the middle is still liquid. So next time i will try with one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim
Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made no modifications to the recipe. It's delicious, but very sweet...but, we like that in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States