Neiman Marcus Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I was expecting a cake, but after looking at the ingredient list and reading the reviews, I have to agree that this is more like a bar than a cake recipe. We found this to be very sweet, so all around we were a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I expected a little more flavor, but was overall very happy with them. My friends and I had a brownie bake off, and mine ended up being my favorite. I think I'll try using different flavored cake mixes for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Excellent but I'd say that these are more like "bars" than traditional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this for a fish boil at the local fire department. It isn't really cake-like at all...more like a bar. I wasn't too excited about it, but my husband is a big fan of them. Next time, I'll lower the temperature of the oven, and keep them in a little longer. They were very done around the edges, and barely done in the middle. I'll be making it again for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
All of my family LOVED IT!!!!!! Some of the reviews stated it was tooo sweet but we disagree. They agreed it was one of the best dessert I had ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hockman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
There is a topping for this recipe (original). 1- 8 oz. box of Cool Whip, 1/2 cup pecan pieces, 1 cup coconut all mixed well and spread over cooled cake. Then sprinkle with 2 grated Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars. This makes it completely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is an easy, tasty dessert. The dough is a little hard to mix at first, but otherwise, it's a snap. I've used several types of cake mix (my husband loves french vanilla, I go for devil's food) and it's always very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Westlake, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Excellent and very rich. While I am sure it is great as is, I doubled the cream cheese,added an extra egg and a teaspoon of vanilla, but kept the sugar the same. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is so easy and delicious...I love to bake, but I am trying to lose some baby weight, so I bake things and take them to work-this dissapeared in an instant! Everyone was raving about it and asking for the recipe...I will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
When they say that this cake is REALLY REALLY SWEET and is more like a brownie, TAKE HEED!! I even used 1/2 cup less powdered sugar. I also added one egg and 1/2 cup water to the cake mixture because I wanted it more cakey. I also didn't like the way the topping was too crispy on the top. I guess what I was thinking of was a more cream cheesy, softer, topping and this definitely was not that. I'll pass on making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States