Neiman Marcus Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I was expecting a cake, but after looking at the ingredient list and reading the reviews, I have to agree that this is more like a bar than a cake recipe. We found this to be very sweet, so all around we were a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I expected a little more flavor, but was overall very happy with them. My friends and I had a brownie bake off, and mine ended up being my favorite. I think I'll try using different flavored cake mixes for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Excellent but I'd say that these are more like "bars" than traditional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this for a fish boil at the local fire department. It isn't really cake-like at all...more like a bar. I wasn't too excited about it, but my husband is a big fan of them. Next time, I'll lower the temperature of the oven, and keep them in a little longer. They were very done around the edges, and barely done in the middle. I'll be making it again for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
All of my family LOVED IT!!!!!! Some of the reviews stated it was tooo sweet but we disagree. They agreed it was one of the best dessert I had ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
There is a topping for this recipe (original). 1- 8 oz. box of Cool Whip, 1/2 cup pecan pieces, 1 cup coconut all mixed well and spread over cooled cake. Then sprinkle with 2 grated Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars. This makes it completely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is an easy, tasty dessert. The dough is a little hard to mix at first, but otherwise, it's a snap. I've used several types of cake mix (my husband loves french vanilla, I go for devil's food) and it's always very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Westlake, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Excellent and very rich. While I am sure it is great as is, I doubled the cream cheese,added an extra egg and a teaspoon of vanilla, but kept the sugar the same. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is so easy and delicious...I love to bake, but I am trying to lose some baby weight, so I bake things and take them to work-this dissapeared in an instant! Everyone was raving about it and asking for the recipe...I will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
When they say that this cake is REALLY REALLY SWEET and is more like a brownie, TAKE HEED!! I even used 1/2 cup less powdered sugar. I also added one egg and 1/2 cup water to the cake mixture because I wanted it more cakey. I also didn't like the way the topping was too crispy on the top. I guess what I was thinking of was a more cream cheesy, softer, topping and this definitely was not that. I'll pass on making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States