Neiman Marcus Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I had high hopes for this recipe after reading all the reviews. They were all right - this cake is very rich and very good. Everyone loved it. I thought that it was just okay, since it tastes like a cream cheese brownie, and I don't particularly like cream cheese brownies. If you really want to get the cake experience with this recipe, I'd recommend baking it in a 9-inch round cake or springform pan. The brown and white looks good together and it makes for a tall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
There is a topping for this recipe (original). 1- 8 oz. box of Cool Whip, 1/2 cup pecan pieces, 1 cup coconut all mixed well and spread over cooled cake. Then sprinkle with 2 grated Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars. This makes it completely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Excellent and very rich. While I am sure it is great as is, I doubled the cream cheese,added an extra egg and a teaspoon of vanilla, but kept the sugar the same. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
We loved this recipe, try it with a butter pecan flavor cake mix and put some pecans on top. Tasted like a really rich pecan pie.(p.s. just made it again for my sister, accidentally cooked for 1 hour and 15 minutes, thought I burned it but was still really good. Guess you can't ruin this one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
When they say that this cake is REALLY REALLY SWEET and is more like a brownie, TAKE HEED!! I even used 1/2 cup less powdered sugar. I also added one egg and 1/2 cup water to the cake mixture because I wanted it more cakey. I also didn't like the way the topping was too crispy on the top. I guess what I was thinking of was a more cream cheesy, softer, topping and this definitely was not that. I'll pass on making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I had high hopes for this, but was disappointed. Maybe I should have done it in a smaller pan. It was like brownies with this white creamy frosting that never really stayed put. Next time I might try it with a 9x9 or 8x8 as suggested for a "taller" cake. I thought the flavor was fine, but nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I have just found this website. I was looking for something easy, fast and yummy. I read all the ratings and picked this cake. I was very unhappy. I should have stopped after I read the 4 cups of sugar. It is WAY TOO rich and sweet, there is just TOO MUCH sugar, even for my husband who normally eats everything. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I made this cake for my husband's birthday 4 months ago and he took it with him to work. His coworkers have said recently that they still think about this cake and that it's the best cake ever! My husband has requested it several times since his birthday. Very rich and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
No offense intended to anyone, but this recipe is almost as satisfying and tasty as REALLY GOOD SEX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this for a fish boil at the local fire department. It isn't really cake-like at all...more like a bar. I wasn't too excited about it, but my husband is a big fan of them. Next time, I'll lower the temperature of the oven, and keep them in a little longer. They were very done around the edges, and barely done in the middle. I'll be making it again for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States