Neecie's PBJ Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I took these to work and they disappeared in less than an hour. I work in a small office with only about 10 ppl! I did have to cook these about 5 minutes longer and think that they would be best if chilled for a little while to harden. But they did still stay in bar form somewhat without chilling. If I make these again I will probably use a little less jam. I also want to try these with honey instead of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
As others have stated, the cooking time is off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftingMuse

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I had a lot of issues with this, same as several others. It was ok but the amount of sugar was overwhelming and it was crumbly instead of a bar. I made a few adjustments that worked for us and figured I'd share...still tweaking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by driveme04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was exactly what I was looking for. I really wanted a pb&j sandwich for breakfast, but I'm out of bread at the moment. I used old fashioned oats, halved the ingredients and baked in a 9x9 dish. My oven runs pretty hot, so I didn't have a prob w/ the cooking time like other reviewers. Next time I will def use better preserves, this time I had to just use what I had on hand, which was a mixture of strawberry preserves and my son's grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This recipe tasted alright but it it took much longer to cook than stated. i also was unable to cut it into bars, so we had to eat it by scooping it out of the pan and eating it with a spoon. Tasted decent, just a little disapointing as it's not what i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I thought this recipe is great! It's easy to make and tastes great! My kids love it and everytime I take it somewhere, I leave without any left! I do cook it alittle longer than stated. Great recipe to get kids involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Umm...healthy? Nothing healthy in this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Good, a little too sweet. I'll make it without the sugar next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
These cookies were enjoyed by the adults, but not too much by the children! I used peach preserves as no suggestions were made for the type of jelly. The cookies were very moist and delicious, especially when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
The kids love it, but I would note letting it cool to the touch, then chilling in the fridge until set before cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States