Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Deeeelicious! I followed another reviewer's advice and added more spices: 1/8 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon. I also added a crumble topping of 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, and cut in enough butter to make it moist and crumbly (I think up to a 1/4 cup). Sprinkle it on top and pop it in the oven. Baking time and temp stay the same. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Yum! Here is a hint to help get the skins off easier. Before you put the fruits in the boiling water cut a small X in the bottom with a pairing knife then after blanching them in the boiling water and cooling them you can just peel them like a banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I went looking for some ideas for me to do some thing with my nectarines. I found this recipe and it decided to makie it. It was fantastic! After looking at the recipe and reading through the reviews, I came up with a few changes I wanted to try. Here are the changes I made. I made a one crust pie. I did not peel the nectarines. I cut the nectarines in slices and since I used what I picked off my tree, I filld up the pie pan using a circular pattern so the whipping cream could still flow through. Instead of a pie crust topping, I made a crumb topping with brown sugar, flour, cinnamon & brown sugar. Then I sprinkled the top with sliced almonds. I left everything else the same. I cooked the pie for only 30 min. and when it was time to cut it, it was a little on the runny side. It was difficult to serve. Maybe I should have cooked it longer. I am not sure. I made another one the next night for another get together, and baked it about 6 min. longer, but it was still a bit runny. Both times the pies were slightly warm while cutting. I am wondering if the reason why it is running is because I am adding too many necartines. It really didn't matter though, because I served it with Breyers French Vanilla ice cream and it was delicious. Both times it was a bit hit and nothing was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I've made this pie two times now. The first time I made it I took the skins off the nectarines. Second time I didn't bother to do that. We liked the pie better with the skins on and it was less work! It was a real hit. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I was really impressed with this recipe! I had nectarines that were not very sweet and no one was eating them, and I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot. I made a butter crust recipe and followed the directions for the filling exactly (except I actually substituted pancake mix for the flour because I ran out). I thought this was a fantastic change from the usual fruit pie, and everyone who tried it agreed. It had a very unique flavor! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is delicious! I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and doubled the cinnamon, added the 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg. I also made a crumble crust with 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, and 1/4 butter. i topped the pie off with some whipped cream made of heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. it was one of the best pies i've ever had! my roommate licked her plate she liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
YUUUM! I cheated a little bit on this pie and used peaches as I had just brought home a bunch from work, and it turned out fabulous. I sliced the peaches flat and thin instead of halving them so that there would be more fruit in each bite, and put a lattice topped crust sprinkled with cinnamon on top. I used fat free half n half instead of cream, and ended up baking it for nearly an hour, but my oven is sometimes weird. I took it out and it looked great, smelled great, and tasted de-vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie! I was being really lazy, so I didn't make my own crust (used a frozen one) and didn't even peel the nectarines! I added an extra nectarine (mine were a little small) and used vanilla extract instead of almond. I dotted the top with a little bit of butter (about 1 Tbs total) for some added richness. It was fantastic! A really easy pie for a homemade pie taste without lots of work! And I ended up loving the color that the skins gave to the pie. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
The flavor of this pie was pretty good, but the appearance (kind of grey) and texture (kind of gloppy) were not as appealing as I'd hoped. I adore nectarines so I was excited to try it, but I'd try a different recipe next time. (I sliced the nectarines as others recommended and otherwise followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was absolutely delicious (I just finished my third slice of the night) and pretty darned easy... other than the fact that my nectarines were not all that ripe and didn't want to peel or come off the pit. I simply cut the skin off with a knife and sliced chunks off (instead of halves) and it was perfection. Baking time was good at 40 minutes. Looked good and tasted better. It is one of the only recipes I have found for good desserts that will actually cook right at high altitude too. =) I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States