Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Oh my goodness I loved this pie and it was so easy to make and the crust was delicious and I usually don't care for crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelliee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
It was delicious. The red pits of the nectarine bled off, and added a wonderful color to the pie. I added orange zest, a pinch of mace, nutmeg and ginger. It firmed up nicely after it cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Delicious! I followed suggestions and cut the nectarines in quarters and left the skin on (which gave the dish a nice color). Used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and fat-free half-and-half instead of cream. Served over ice cream and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Oh-So-Good! I added some NUTMEG, CINNAMON, and GINGER (powdered)....and increased the ALMOND EXTRACT to 1 1/2 tsp......just my personal family's taste preferences. YIKES! I'm making it again, tomorrow night! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This is so easy, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
The flavor of this pie was pretty good, but the appearance (kind of grey) and texture (kind of gloppy) were not as appealing as I'd hoped. I adore nectarines so I was excited to try it, but I'd try a different recipe next time. (I sliced the nectarines as others recommended and otherwise followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
YUUUM! I cheated a little bit on this pie and used peaches as I had just brought home a bunch from work, and it turned out fabulous. I sliced the peaches flat and thin instead of halving them so that there would be more fruit in each bite, and put a lattice topped crust sprinkled with cinnamon on top. I used fat free half n half instead of cream, and ended up baking it for nearly an hour, but my oven is sometimes weird. I took it out and it looked great, smelled great, and tasted de-vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I went looking for some ideas for me to do some thing with my nectarines. I found this recipe and it decided to makie it. It was fantastic! After looking at the recipe and reading through the reviews, I came up with a few changes I wanted to try. Here are the changes I made. I made a one crust pie. I did not peel the nectarines. I cut the nectarines in slices and since I used what I picked off my tree, I filld up the pie pan using a circular pattern so the whipping cream could still flow through. Instead of a pie crust topping, I made a crumb topping with brown sugar, flour, cinnamon & brown sugar. Then I sprinkled the top with sliced almonds. I left everything else the same. I cooked the pie for only 30 min. and when it was time to cut it, it was a little on the runny side. It was difficult to serve. Maybe I should have cooked it longer. I am not sure. I made another one the next night for another get together, and baked it about 6 min. longer, but it was still a bit runny. Both times the pies were slightly warm while cutting. I am wondering if the reason why it is running is because I am adding too many necartines. It really didn't matter though, because I served it with Breyers French Vanilla ice cream and it was delicious. Both times it was a bit hit and nothing was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie! I was being really lazy, so I didn't make my own crust (used a frozen one) and didn't even peel the nectarines! I added an extra nectarine (mine were a little small) and used vanilla extract instead of almond. I dotted the top with a little bit of butter (about 1 Tbs total) for some added richness. It was fantastic! A really easy pie for a homemade pie taste without lots of work! And I ended up loving the color that the skins gave to the pie. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This pie is excellent! I tested it out on friends for a brunch and gave a slice to my mother. EXCELLENT! I used peaches, bananas and substituted buttermilk for some of the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States