Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was told by my boyfriend, his parents, and my roommate this was the best pie any of them have ever ate. I used the 5 nectarines from my local CSA box for this, and loved the tip on hot/cold water to get the skins off. Didn't work perfectly for me, but oh well. The hardest part was cutting the nectarines and getting the pit out! I sliced the nectarines into thin slice, and spread them out in a circle in the pie shell. I did not have almond extract, so I used homemade vanilla extract instead. I also substituted the 2/3 cup of white sugar for 1/3c vanilla sugar I made, and 1/3c brown sugar. I also made a semi-crumble topping with chopped pecans, vanilla sugar, brown sugar, and butter and sprinkled ontop. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe, and next summer i'll try to remember to make extra pies and freeze them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
loved it and so easy! I prefer nectarines to peaches. This is such a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I thought this was flavorless. :( Disappointed, and I followed the recipe and others suggestions. The best part was the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
A hit! This is the my all-time favorite pie! Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This a delicious pie! It was very easy to put together. This particular recipe does not need any changes at all! I made it like my mother used to make her apple tart. I sliced nectarines for a bottom layer, then put nectarines cut in half, cut side down over the sliced nectarines. I put the cream mixture over the top. The pie does not need a topping or crust or added spices. I have made 5 pies this weekend alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This pie was exceptional.I live in California and we grow our own nectarines. Having an over abundance of nectarines all at one time can be a problem.This pie recipe fit the bill. I did add a top crust of graham cracker crumbs and brown sugar ,this sealed the deal for a five star review. fru
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRISTY916
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was interesting. I didn't much care for the "undercooked cake" texture of the cream filling. I should have let it bake longer than 35-40 min. Otherwise, it was quite good. I skipped the boiling and peeling process entirely because nectarine skins are edible. Also, I quartered them as they were a little firm, and wanted them to cook more evenly than halves would cook. Finally, I added frozen black raspberries to the mix, and it was very pretty. Photo uploaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'm only giving this recipe four stars because I had to make a few changes. I read previous reviews and saw that many had problems with the filling being runny. I also substituted melted vanilla ice cream for whipping cream because I had none. First, I didn't peel the nectarines, I just pulled them apart as mine were very ripe and soft. I saved all of juice that came off of them and added a good amount of corn starch to that. I mixed the juice with the flour-sugar mixture and ice cream. My pie barely cooked in the 35 minutes, but was perfectly brown so I covered it in tin foil and left it in the oven for another 15-20 minutes. It was still a little runny and not very pretty. I'll take even more percautions against runniness next time I make this pie, but I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mellette, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is not my first attempt at nectarine pie... I created my own version years ago and never thought to look for an alternative. But when I saw this, I had to try it! Sounded so yummy and had great reviews - but for some reason mine was much too gooey even after I baked it for 1 hour. I anticipated it being a little too wet and initially added an extra 2 Tbsp flour, not really enough to counteract all that cream though! (And my nectarines were not even that juicy) Next time I will just try to reduce the amount of cream by 1/2. hopefully that will help. The taste is good, but in the future, I will add add additional cinnamon, nutmeg and increase the almond extract slightly. With some tweaks it will probably get a second chance in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BlessedByFaith
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was my first foray into pie making, but I had just taken my 2.5 year old fruit picking and needed to find recipes for all the fruit! I made a couple of changes, based on the reviews I read. I sliced the nectarines instead of halving them and I left the skins on. The fruit I used was quite ripe, so the skins weren't too tough. However, the end product WAS a bit soft, so I might use less ripe nectarines next time to see if I can make it a bit more solid. I used twice as much cinnamon as the original recipe called for, and added another 1tsp of Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of ground Ginger. I could really taste the nutmeg in the finished pie. I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla and it was delish. I also made the brown sugar crumble (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, about a 1/4 cup of butter cut in to make it moist), and I am REALLY glad I did! I LOVED how it gave a little crunch to an otherwise soft pie. I cooked it for 45 minutes and let it cool completely before digging in. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the adjustments I made to it. Had the recipe been stellar with the exact way it was shown originally, I would have given it 5 stars, but I really think it needed the boost from the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlessedByFaith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States