Neck Bones and Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was very good - family loved it. The only thing I would change is to cut back on the sage due to personal preference. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
TO DIE FOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Classic. I just didn't bother with the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've been cooking great dishes for the past 30 years, and I have to say without a doubt, this is one of the best country meals I have ever had. I didn't have dry limas, so I used a frozen pack I had in the freezer, and waited until the neck bones were tender before adding them. I was concerned about how I would like the sage and netmeg, but they weren't overwhelming in flavor, but mildly blended in with everything else. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made it as directed. Not good, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I am not rating this a 5 star because I made so many modifications I didn't think it would be fair but nonetheless I used this recipe as a baseline and made a similar dish with what I had that was wonderful. I made this using a bag of frozen lima beans, 4 large slices of Country ham as well as a packet of Country ham bouillon, minced garlic, minced onions, lots of pepper a dash of salt and some italian seasonings. I cooked the country ham then broke it into pieces in the skillet on the stove. I then added the bag of frozen lima beans, all of the seasonings and 2 cups of water. I brought this to a boil and then simmered it on low for about 35 minutes and it was wonderful. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I had some pork neck bones and some lima beans that I wanted cook up so I came on AR just looking at bean recipes. Imagine my surprise at finding an actual recipe for neck bones and lima beans! I wanted to make the dish a little tomato-y and bbq-y tasting so I added tomato sauce and barbeque sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I had never cooked neck bones before, I just bought them on a whim because they were cheap, and this was a wonderful way to cook them. Thank you so much CRB, you really made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I'm so sorry, but this was not good for us. I followed the directions exactly, and the flavor was okay. The meat fell off the bones all right, but then we had a mess of lima beans, meat and tiny bones all mixed together. Did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I am going to try this next time with pork short ribs.I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/2 teaspoon .1 Tablespoon is too much for my family. Make sure you soak the lima beans for at least 12 hours otherwise some will still be dry and solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States